Get Sick Or Die Trying – Part 2

The completion of a second pair of Poxwalkers means that, although I’m still a long way from a hideous undead horde, I now have enough zombies to worry an Imperial serf or possibly a particularly incompetent and cowardly dog.

Poxwalker Convert or Die (1)Poxwalker Convert or Die (2)Poxwalker Convert or Die (3)Poxwalker Convert or Die (4)Poxwalker Convert or Die (5)Poxwalker Convert or Die (6)Poxwalker Convert or Die (7)

14 responses to “Get Sick Or Die Trying – Part 2

  • Alex

    Nicely done mate – it is amazing how much difference a gritty paint job makes compared to the comical look that the ‘official’ style gives ’em… These guys look genuinely disturbing!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate πŸ™‚ I completely agree on the paintwork, the cheesy grins just look a bit silly on the official models but give them a grittier paint job and they suddenly become quite sinister.

  • Ann

    Very nice! The ability to worry serfs and the incompetent is certainly a worthy start!

    • Ann

      p.s. Forgot to say, I like the white eyes. I have been painting darker eyes on mine but I think I like these better.

      • Wudugast

        Thanks πŸ™‚ yeah, I reckon the white eyes make them look less alive, less human and more disturbing, but its a personal taste thing really.

      • Ann

        That as well, but they also really pop and draw the eye, at least in photos. I’ve found that such things, in my experience anyway, don’t show up so much on the tabletop, but I think part of the fun of mini’s is the loving attention we give to them when they are six inches from our faces as well as when they are giving our frienemies one in the neck.

        I used some Evil Sunz Scarlet for the eyes on the latest poxwalker I’m working on instead of the darker eyes I’ve been doing. Not sure which I like better; I’ll probably do both going forward.

      • Wudugast

        When I first started painting someone told me that some miniatures look good close up and some look good on the tabletop but the hardest trick is getting both to work. I’ve been trying to pull it off ever since!

        As for scary bloodshot eyes you really can’t go wrong with them, might try them on one or two of my own poxwalkers.

      • Ann

        Good advice. The best I’ve been able to do is scare people with the horrors of my blobs, Nurgle green, brightly painted, reddish-brown (especially them as it turns out) and otherwise rather than the quality of my painting. Still, it gives one something to work towards. I must say, your guys at least in pictures are plenty macabre, that’s for certain.

        Also, that’s true, scary eyes are almost never a bad thing. πŸ™‚

      • Wudugast

        Hey – we’ll have no false modesty here; your poxwalkers are quality πŸ™‚

  • Azazel

    Very nice work. The dark, gritty look really suits and enhances them. Do you have any painting notes on them? I’m probably going down to Nurgle torn shortly, and so I’m looking at pics like these and Ann’s poxwalkers for ideas to crib when I get to my own.

    • Wudugast

      Thanks πŸ™‚

      I’ve been keeping each one fairly relaxed and experimental. I’ve started with a good coat of a skin colour (trying to vary it a little depending on what colours I’m using over the top). Then I’ve been letting washes take the strain of painting, generally using a flesh wash to begin with, then having fun applying a variety of colours until it looks right. Main thing is to pick colours that work together (reds and purples, blues and greens etc). Then finish with a highlight. Keeps things nice and simple and means that every one of them is unique – stops me getting bogged down but also avoids me getting bored as I might do if I was batch painting.

  • Stuart G

    Hey, I reckon they look great. Quick question -how do you do the blue clothing? It looks good and I’d like to copy. Also, what’s the orange colour you use for rust? Hope you don’t mind sharing your trade secrets!

    • Wudugast

      Thanks very much πŸ™‚ I’m more than to share my recipes but I’m away from home at the moment – as soon as I’m back (probably Monday) I’ll check my painting notes and let you know what I used.

Speak, damn you!

