Dreadtober – Part 2

It’s been a week since my bold assertion that I would paint a bloat-drone in the month of October and the question on everyone’s lips is; how much have I managed? For the uninitiated October has come to mean Dreadtober as hobbyists attempt to get their unloved Dreadnaughts finished before the start of November. Anything of roughly dreadnaught-sized proportions is welcome, with carnifexs, dreadknights, helbrutes and – in my case at least – bloat-drones all welcome. If you have a dreadnaught shoved to one corner of your painting desk it’s not too late – this could be its moment.

I’ll confess that much as I enjoy Dreadtober I actually hate posting WIP images of part-painted models, especially when they’re frozen in the moment when the first basecoats have been applied but the washes are still waiting in the wings and the whole model is a shoddy mess of flat panels and ugly colours. Nonetheless regular progress updates are very much in the Dreadtober spirit so I shall grit my teeth and reveal the current state of the bloat-drone to the world.

Bloatdrone Dreadtober Convert Or Die (2)Bloatdrone Dreadtober Convert Or Die (3)Bloatdrone Dreadtober Convert Or Die (4)

As you can see it’s not looking its best yet but you can’t pretend I didn’t forewarn you of that!

The khornate helbrute, originally painted for the 2015 Dreadtober, is also at a less than prepossessing stage, its flaying arms repaired and – hopefully – upgraded with garish lumps of greenstuff (hence the black and white image).

Dreadtober Convert Or Die (1)

Still lots to be done before the end of the month then but progress is underway at least.

10 responses to “Dreadtober – Part 2

  • imperialrebelork

    So far so good mate. Each year I get closer and closer to going in with dreadtober but alas I won’t be in it this year. Next year, there’s always next year.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers 🙂 I almost didn’t go for Dreadtober myself this year, I’m pretty stretched for time and the community spirit and drive drummed up by the organisers that really made it swing in previous years has been distinctly lacking this time round. Not a criticism of the guys behind it, I’m sure they have real lives to be getting on with as well, but without that sense of buzz it’s harder to get really drawn in and motivated by it all. That said I’m really enjoying the models themselves so that’s more than enough to keep me going.

  • bigbossredskullz

    Damn, paint already?! I’ve just finished my monster entry for the competition on Ex Profundis and are halfway through with my five miniatures for the second Invitational. Sadly my dread has suffered for it but I will have to finish the sculpting this weekend!

    Oh and looks great so far BTW 😅

    • Wudugast

      I did wonder about joining in with the Ex Profundis monster competition but between Dreadtober, the Iron Sleet invitational, my Chapel warband, my self-imposed Skaven deadline and everything else that’s on my painting desk (including possible schemes to make the Death Guard greater)and of course the constant depredations of real life it fell by the wayside. In the end a man’s got to sleep occasionally! 🙂

  • Alex

    Looking mighty fine mate – keep going!!

  • FirBholg

    Looks good – solid start on the bloat drone painting (base is looking good too!), and I like the additions you’ve made to the Khornate fellow (looking suitably wild and frenzied – I wouldn’t want to get anywhere near him!)

    • Wudugast

      Glad you like the improvements to the flail-dread, he never quite looked dangerous enough for me before. I’m enjoying basing the bloat-drone too – it’s been too long since I painted a nice pool of toxic sludge 😀

Speak, damn you!

