For Whom The Bell Tolls – Part 1

As soon as I saw the Noxious Blightbringer I knew I wanted one for my collection. Picture the scene if you will; the Death Guard advancing shrouded beneath clouds of toxic vapour, deamonic beasts wheeling half-seen in the clouds overhead. Thousands of shambling corpses lead the way, their low moans audible over the dense, buzzing static – no, not static but the wings of a million newly hatched flies. Louder still are the bells of Nurgle’s most devoted priests, their deep-voiced booming calling the Plague-God’s gaze so that his children might truly exult in his fetid blessings.

Of course it was something of a disappointment to discover that these were not Dark Apostles after all but rather the guardians of some kind of magic bell. At least whoever does the puns at GW may have been forced underground since the heady, Lizardmen era, but he’s still going strong (Blight Ringer eh!). Mind you, they probably should have been stopped before they got to the Tocsins of Misery…

Never mind I still wanted at least one. Indeed the more I thought about it the more I wanted a second, the visual impact of two being more than twice that of one after all. The question was, how easy would the model be to convert? As it turns out, not that hard at all.

Noxious Blightbringer Convert Or Die (1)

I was keen, as much as possible, to stick with components from the original model. After all this is a starter set figure and although many of those are picked up by old hands looking to expand a collection plenty more go to complete newcomers. With that in mind I wanted to explore how easy it would be to convert the model for someone with a fairly limited bits box to call upon. In the end I used two components from other kits; the head – from one of the Maggoth Lords and the backpack vent from a damaged Space Wolf backpack.

Noxious Blightbringer Convert Or Die (2)

Noxious Blightbringer Convert Or Die (4)

Noxious Blightbringer Convert Or Die (3)

Here’s the original model by way of comparison.

Noxious Blightbringer Convert Or Die (5)

And here’s the two side by side (as usual don’t give yourself eye-strain, click on the picture to make it bigger).

Noxious Blightbringer Convert Or Die (6)

I may make a few more tweaks but overall this was a spectacularly straightforward conversion. Now it’s off to the painting desk for both of them.

15 responses to “For Whom The Bell Tolls – Part 1

  • Laffe

    Interesting and effective conversion. Can’t wait to see them painted!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers man, me too – although right now there’s so many things I want to paint and so little time to paint them. Somehow I just can’t stop converting more stuff or imagining other things I want to build though. I suspect in the end I’ll go out like the rest of us, buried under a pile of partly-painted models, shouting at the grim reaper to hold on a moment, I’ve got a great idea that I need to assemble first.

  • imperialrebelork

    Looking good my friend. I’m glad you removed the nurgling. They’re a bit too cute for my liking, apart from the ones clawing their way out of a stomach. Love this Bell model and I’m on the search for one of my own.

    • Matt Sheffield

      I agree. I think nurglings have a place, but this one just made the whole model look a bit too busy and cheery.

      • Wudugast

        @ IRO
        Ah, see I love the Nurglings, they’ve been part of the background for so long and they really help to emphasise the fun-loving side of Nurgle, especially the daemons, particularly when compared with the rather more stern and serious marines. I always envision any gathering of the Death Guard to be a really grim and funereal affair, with lots of severe-looking marines and dour priests of decay having serious meetings about strategy and praying for the death of the universe whilst giggling Nurglings run around underfoot shooting germ-filled party poppers and generally causing mischief.
        Plus my girlfriend loves them, she’d probably have one running round the house if she could, whereas she’s not such a fan of the guts and sores of the rest of Nurgle’s followers. So long as there are a few Nurglings around the response to me leaving Nurgly models lying all over the place is a lot more positive! 😉

        @ Matt
        Aye, much as I like the Nurglings (for the reasons outlined to IRO) I’m always a bit sceptical of seeing them hanging all over other characters. I think it works well enough on the stock model but repeating it on the second one would have been over-egging it I feel.

  • Alex

    Cracking job mate – talk about presence! These guys look like walking tanks! Are you going to vary up the paint tones used on each?

    • Wudugast

      Possibly, I’d like to work in a little bit more individuality at that stage, although I think I’m more likely to do that by keeping the paint scheme as close to each other (and the rest of the army) as possible, but giving each some personal heraldry. Will see how it works out though.

  • Thomas

    Definitely improvements made on your conversion. Still not a fan of the base models but dammit they’re growing on me. Great work, nonetheless mate!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers man, the stock model certainly seems to be proving a divisive figure. Another reason I wanted to explore how easy it would be to convert actually. As it’s a starter set model there must be plenty of people out there trying to work out if they can turn theirs into something that suits their personal aesthetic taste.

      • Laffe

        I like this model. Still your conversion is effective.

        It will be interesting to see what you do with the plague caster, I converted mine with some left over bits from the Blight Kings box.

      • Thomas

        Part of me wants to sink my teeth into this model but not now. Got too many projects going right now. I will dedicate this summer to finishing stuff.

      • Wudugast

        @Laffe: Got any pictures of your Plague Caster – I need inspiration!

        @Thomas: Aye, that was my plan too. Then new Death Guard happened. Still, your self-control is to be praised!

      • Thomas

        Self-control? Geez, not exactly how I would describe my relationship with GW.

  • FirBholg

    A great conversion of one of my favourite models in the new starter set (not that I’ve had the chance to get hands on yet!). They look really good side-by-side, both have their own distinct personalities while maintaining the same profile!

    • Wudugast

      Which was very much what I was aiming for 🙂 Each of them is a character in his own right, yet it should be clear that they both fulfil the same role and are part of the same cult. Next I want to see if I can redeem the Plaguecaster, although that might be more of a challenge…

Speak, damn you!

