Skull-Crab

I’ve been a bit in love with the skull-crabs from Black Earth ever since they were first revealed, even more so since Mark was kind enough to send me some. It’s odd then that it’s taken me so long to actually paint one of them but hey, I bet you’re not perfect either!

Black Earth Skull Crab Convert Or Die (1)

Black Earth Skull Crab Convert Or Die (2)

10 responses to “Skull-Crab

  • imperialrebelork

    Actually I am perfect… in my Mums eyes at least. Lovely job mate. Weird and wonderful little things aren’t they.

    • Wudugast

      Well, I would never argue with your mum (and neither should you) so I guess that’s settled! They are amazing little things aren’t they? I’ve got two more, really want to get working on them now. šŸ™‚

  • Azazel

    That skull-crab is great. It could work as a chaos-infused creepy-crawlie, or a variant on the Imperial Servo-skull. Very cool!

    • Wudugast

      Funnily enough I was just messing about with some bits and realising I could use them to make a Chaos servo skull. Got me thinking about the idea of a game set at the smallest possible scale, where each player acts as the ‘controller’ commanding a little warband of servo-skulls, chaos servo-skulls, squigs, rippers or whatever other tiny 40k creatures one could imagine.

      As for these skull crabs I always imagined them as being a variant of servo-skull, but thanks to your suggestion now I’m considering the possibility of converting one of them to Chaos… Definitely food for thought there… šŸ™‚

  • Thomas

    I love my skull crabs. I wish I had more to tie my different terrain pieces together.

    Great work on yours, mate!

    • Wudugast

      I know – I’d have them crawling over all kinds of Imperial terrain, larger machines, bases, etc. It’s those details that makes the Imperium come to life for me and really emphasises that it may be our future but it’s as alien to our current world as many of the xenos races.

  • heresyofus

    Glad you like them mate. I’ve got more! Your idea of a small skull crab skirmish game is great. You could have them rebuilding each other and upgrading themselves. šŸ™‚

Speak, damn you!

