Boyz Will Be Boyz – Part 5

I’m on fire this week (figuratively – natch!) – here’s two more painted Ork boys! Waaargh!

Ork Boy Convert Or Die (9)

Ork Boy Convert Or Die (10)

Ork Boy Convert Or Die (11)

Ork Boy Convert Or Die (3)

Ork Boy Convert Or Die (4)

As always your feedback is appreciated.

17 responses to “Boyz Will Be Boyz – Part 5

  • imperialrebelork

    Bad boys for life. Well done mate. They’re very cool. Love seeing your posts pop up, especially on a regular basis.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate – I’m not sure where this current wave of creative energy has come from but I’ll be riding it as far as it goes! 🙂

      • imperialrebelork

        Ride it man. I once rode a donkey but it didn’t take me more than a few steps before it stopped and refused to move. Stubborn as a mule.

      • Wudugast

        I can imagine you felt a bit of an ass. It probably didn’t approve of you horsing around. Not a situation you’d want to be saddled with, perhaps you were right to reign it in when you did. The mane thing is that you tried.

        Anyway, I’d better hoof it but, as ever, I appreciate your unbridled enthusiasm!

  • Laffe

    WHAAAAAARGH!!!

    (Translation: as an old ork player it warms my heart to see with how much love you treat your boyz)

    • Wudugast

      Thanks very much! Orks were my first love among GW’s miniatures (excluding a formative encounter with the Skaven but that was before I knew anything about painting, the warhammer universes, the games etc). They may be a horde army but they really reward putting a little extra time and attention into each one. I have a plan to someday have at least 100 ork boys (this won’t be any time soon I know!) and for each one to have a unique head. I reckon it’s achievable. I know it’ll take a while but I’m in no rush, I want to enjoy the journey.

  • Laffe

    BTW, how did you do the skulls on the axes? And is that a totenkopf emblem?

    • Wudugast

      In the case of the upper of these two orks (i.e. the one at the top of the page with the bionic eye) it’s just a skull that, at some point, I’ve scraped off another model and kept. Presumably somewhere along the line I had a component that I wanted to use minus it’s skull adornment (a shock to everyone at GW who would tell you one can never have too many skulls). I don’t believe it was originally intended as a Totenkopf, although it does appear to have a bone behind it so perhaps it was? Certainly that wasn’t my aim with it and I’m not intending any political statement by using it. If it bothers anyone I’ll probably scrape away the bone so it’s just a skull – I cause enough controversy as it is! 😉

      In the case of the lower model (the one with the Ironjaw Brute head) I spread a thin layer of greenstuff on the axe head and then carved a crude orky skull shape out of it. Then I used that as a guide when it came to painting. It just adds a little depth that wouldn’t be as easy to create with normal freehand.

      • Laffe

        I don’t think it will cause any offence. It’s very vaguely similar, not identical.

        The same skull and crossbones motif is still in use in Italy on warning signs, I guess it’s a common form of stylised skull that was used for the Totenkopf emblem.

      • Wudugast

        Aye, I was just taking a look at a few Totenkopfs and other skull-and-crossbones emblems and I reckon it’s pretty safe. We also have similar skull and crossbones warning signs in the UK (meaning danger of death, not danger of pirates as I’d hoped!) – which now I think about it, is very much the kind of message an Ork might want to put on his axe!

  • mikeland82

    Love these. They are making me feel like painting or making something orkish.

  • Azazel

    Alright you bastard! You’ve done it. I’ll try and get a pair of Orks finished this weekend. :p

  • Cylde Ar

    Great we need more Orks all over the world

Speak, damn you!

