In The Service of the Gods – Part 12

With my second squad of Chaos Marines having continued to grow slowly (it’s most recent member being inducted just yesterday) now seems a good time to see a group shot. Further encouragement for this – as if any were ever needed – came from Heretic30k, the commander of an impressively evil host of his own and a blogger I’d encourage you to check out at once.

Convert or Die Chaos Marines Group (1)

In spite of my tendency to go on a bit about how great it would be to get a new Chaos marines kit I’ve actually got quite a few made from the old kit still kicking around on my painting desk and crying out for attention (in deep, manly voices of course). That being the case perhaps I should crack on and get them painted up before a new kit does finally arrive and distracts me?

And how about seeing all the Chaos Marines I’ve ever painted gathered together? Are you excited about 8th edition lads? Apparently you’ll be getting some Death Guard pals to play with and lots of filthy loyalists to kill. Look how happy that makes them!

Convert or Die Chaos Marines Group (2)

Those who don’t fancy struggling with eyestrain should give the pictures a click to see full sized versions (your optician will thank you).

12 responses to “In The Service of the Gods – Part 12

  • imperialrebelork

    Excellent group shot. Really impressive.

  • heretic30k

    Love how individual and distinctive these guys look – great work even though the chaos marine kit is well past prime you have more than done them justice. I also like the use of the possessed kit – a dash of bits goes a long way. Thanks for the shout out 🙂

    • Wudugast

      Cheers for the suggestion 🙂 I think I’ll try and get my old Chaos marines finished soon, after all a new kit is almost inevitable (at some point). Once it does emerge I’ll want to start messing around with that instead and never get back to my current crop of conversions, which would be a shame as I’m rather pleased with some of them.

      Funnily enough I was just looking through some back issues of White Dwarf (as one does) and came across an old John Blanche article in which he showed some pictures of his Chaos Marines collection in which he’d mixed possessed, chaos marine and assault marine parts. I’d forgotten how big an influence those models had been on me when I first started this army. I tend to find that too many possessed bits makes for a spiky mess but just a few really makes a model look like a true follower of chaos rather than just an angry loyalist.

      • heretic30k

        I remember that article – I think it was the one with the Black/Red and tainted yellow looking marines? Have long since lost my old White Dwarfs, but the Blanche works are so memorable and creepy.

      • Wudugast

        Yeah that’s the one. The latest White Dwarf refers to those models as part of an army but I’ve never managed to track down pictures of anything apart from those which is a shame as I suspect there’s a lot more inspiration to be had in the rest of his collection. Was rather taken with his biker orks as well but again I’ve only ever managed to find pictures of a few of them in White Dwarf.

  • Callum

    That second photo is awesome. Just the focus on the front and the horde of guys behind all blurred just makes this look intense. Cropped in tight this would probably make a pretty sweet wallpaper. Excellent work.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate! I was very much looking to make the last photo a realistic look into the 41st Millennium (if that doesn’t sound too pretentious!), the last thing some guardsman will see as he pokes his head out of a trench, rather than just a straightforward showcase of the models. Good idea re the wallpaper, allow me to ponder over that one a little and who knows what might happen…

Speak, damn you!

