In The Service of the Gods – Part 11

A new edition of Warhammer 40k is just around the corner and, although I have mixed feeling about some of the changes ahead, on balance I’m pretty excited. According to GW themselves Chaos is on the rise across the galaxy and will soon be taking their rightful place as the key baddies of the setting. Before I get completely carried away with the task of raising my hosts to march on Terra however I’m keen to get my undead collection finished off – at least for the time being – so expect to see more of them over the next few weeks. Before that however I couldn’t resist grabbing one of the unpainted Chaos Marines that’s been sitting idle on the desk and getting him finished off at last.

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (1)

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (2)

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (3)

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (4)

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (6)

Let the galaxy burn (but not too badly!)

8 responses to “In The Service of the Gods – Part 11

  • heretic30k

    Love that head – is that custom sculpted?!

    • Wudugast

      It’s not – it’s from the Avatars of War Corruptors of the Apocalypse set (indeed I meant to say that in the post above but old sieve brain here forgot!). The shoulder pads are home-made though, greenstuff over plain loyalist shoulder pads.

  • heretic30k

    Also – group shot please πŸ™‚ Would love to see the warband as a whole.

  • imperialrebelork

    Cool mate. I love that you’ve stuck to the same dirty bone colour scheme. It’s a very impressive contact against the darker surroundings and of course his dark soul.

    • Wudugast

      Thanks mate – I think it looks nicely stark, it stands out against a background (unless he’s fighting in snow) but it’s still monochrome and fits my preference for Blanchian realism rather than the bright heraldic style used by ‘eavy Metal. And of course it doesn’t immediately tie him to an existing Legion which gives me plenty of freedom to play with πŸ™‚

  • Alex

    Another fine example mate, and yeah, I too am cautiously optimistic for 8th!

    • Wudugast

      Aye, so long as they don’t do anything daft with the background like bring back any loyalist Primarchs or make super-extra-awesome +sized space marines then I’ll be all over this… Oh, wait… Seriously though, even with some questionable rumbles coming regarding the fiction this looks rather exciting. Not enjoying new Death Guard because I’m narked off about Guilliman would be a serious case of cutting off my nose to spite my face. I’m also liking the sound of some of the rules changes they’re talking about – I’ve tried to learn 40k in the past and found it to be horribly convoluted and over-complicated but if they’re going to tone that down and actually apply some sensible game design principles I might give it another bash myself.

Speak, damn you!

