Hounds At Your Back – Part 2

To my slight shame and chagrin my efforts to get my undead collection painted seems to have stalled a little, with not a single shambling corpse seeing paint in March. Still, even the great Von Carsteins went through phases of inactivity (the aftermath of Hel Fenn being a particularly bad one) and, as thereโ€™s no time like the present, I’ve picked up my brushes again and returned my attention to my pack of dire wolves. Cue dolorous howls from the gloomy forests and desolate moors…

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (1)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (2)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (3)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (4)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (5)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (6)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (7)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (8)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (9)

With the addition of two new packmates the wolves rise from their loamy beds and go in search of prey once more.

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (10)

Convert Or Die Dire Wolves (11)

11 responses to “Hounds At Your Back – Part 2

  • davekay

    The wolves look fantastic, honestly that is the best effect I’ve ever seen on those models.

  • imperialrebelork

    Ye Gods man they are terrific. Are they GW models? I’ve never been interested in the Wolves GW offer but maybe, now, there could be a little mind changing going on.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, they’re GW models. They’ve been out a long time though, must be at least a decade since they were released. I do agree that GW’s wolves have generally been terrible (have they never seen a real wolf? Get on google lads)but I’m rather fond of these ones. They’ve not been popular in a long time though, although for a little while a lot of them were popping up in Space Wolf armies, before their wolves were released – which from an aesthetic point of view just seemed weird to me; loyalist space marines and zombie wolves don’t look like natural allies!

      • imperialrebelork

        Then again Trump doesn’t look like a natural Allie either. Actually he doesn’t even look natural full stop haha. I think I’ll get me some wolves later down the track.

  • heretic30k

    I always thought that these undead wolves were definitely one of the older and more desperately in need of a refresh kits – I think the zombies are probably one of the few worse in the old GW vampire counts range. That said your paint job looks really great.

    • Wudugast

      See, I love them but I’m well aware that the dire wolves fan club is just me and maybe the designer’s mum (and even she’s just saying it to be nice). Those zombies though are just crying out for a new kit, and they seem like such an obvious choice for it as well. Surely decent zombies would sell like hot cakes? To me it’s up there with a decent chaos cultists kit as an obvious license to print money that GW has inexplicably failed to pursue. Anyway, glad you like them ๐Ÿ™‚

      • heretic30k

        Another vote here for a multi-part chaos cultist kit! Also if we are wishlisting a new chaos space marine kit more in line with the Dark Vengeance Chosen/Raptors would be awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ On the plus side the new Thousand Sons look great & the upcoming Plague Marines look rad.

      • Wudugast

        Aye, new Chaos Marines (and a general reworking of the undivided line) would be excellent at this stage. However having seen the Thousand Sons, and with Plague Marines coming soon, I think it would be a fairly safe bet that the other gods will be getting their own releases sooner or later. Going a bit further with the wishlisting I’d love to see the Dark Mechanicum and Traitor Guard get their own releases. A few years ago I’d have been laughed out of town for even suggesting it but in the wake of Harlequins, Genestealer Cults et al – who knows?

  • Alex

    Nice zombie-dogs mate, they are a bit Marmite, but I do like what you’ve done with them ๐Ÿ™‚

Speak, damn you!

