Reinventing Chaos – Part 1

I’ve been collecting Chaos models for at least seven years now and have racked up something in the vicinity of 7000 points (don’t ask me how many models, I’m not counting them!). In a collection of such size there’s always going to be a few models that no longer impress you, miniatures which for one reason or another never quite worked out or which simply no longer fit in alongside their brothers. Then there are the conversions which now look wonky and the paintjobs which, regardless of how good you thought they were at the time, now just look sloppy. In spite of their flaws some of them have earned their place in the collection, adding to its sense of history and progression, capturing your development as a hobbyist and reminding you of the challenges and triumphs along the way. Others are fit only for the bits bin or to get packed away until their fate is decided. A few, however, are redeemable. Thus I’m inaugurating this occasional series of posts to chart the redemption and resurrection of these fallen heroes. Setting the ball rolling here’s a Chaos Marine I painted back in 2011 (excuse the ancient photograph which manages to do him even less justice than he deserves).

Bloody Ancient Chaos Marine Convert or Die

I still love his huge mutant claw, much as it may not be to everyone’s taste, but the bolter clasped in his other hand was making him look unbalanced and it had to go. Indeed, in spite of having built several models this way in the past myself, the one handed bolter look is something of a pet peeve of mine (unless cleverly supported with straps, being reloaded, etc). Many of the models scheduled for reworking are those which, presumably as a result of temporary insanity, I posed wielding their bolters one handed. Whilst I was about it I also took the opportunity to touch up the paintwork – Duncan Rhodes would not have approved of the “one thick coat” which parts of this model were shamed by.

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (1)

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (2)

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (3)

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (4)

Chaos Marine Convert or Die (5)

Improvement? I certainly think so. As ever though, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

8 responses to “Reinventing Chaos – Part 1

  • Miniature Minded

    Definitely think it is an improvement, like you say it feels a lot more balanced and less like you only had a spare bolter so stuck it on. Great work!

    • Wudugast

      Knowing how limited my bitzbox was and how my conversions tended to work back then, that may have been exactly what happened! Glad you think it’s an improvement 🙂

  • imperialrebelork

    He looks great and rejuvenated. I love the mutant claw.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate! For me Chaos needs a few outlandish mutations – the trick is knowing when to stop. I’ll admit that’s a fine distinction that I’ve missed more than once in the past but then one look at the Warriors of Chaos Forsaken kit is enough to tell you that GW missed it from time to time as well…

  • Alex

    Yep, big improvement, and it’s a good idea to bring some of the unloved up to your current high standards!

  • heretic30k

    Nice regeneration. I find I have a massive mental block in relation to revisiting old hobby projects so full credit for you doing it. I do tend to find that on the rare occasions that I do add to an old project that I try to stick with keeping the same style & quality of painting so as to draw attention and make the newer pieces stand out. Admittedly, I’ve never managed to sustain doing 7k of a single force – that is impressive a hobby feat & worthy of a group pic 🙂

    • Wudugast

      Thanks! I have to admit between wanting to return to old projects and planning new ones there’s times when my current projects struggle to get a look in! As for doing a group shot that’s actually a great idea, I’ll just need to wait for a day with suitable light conditions to capture the whole lot of them arrayed for war 🙂

Speak, damn you!

