The Bane of the Bearded

Well look what I just discovered scurrying around the bottom of a box! It’s my oft-mentioned but never revealed Queek Headtaker. Of course he’ll no longer fit in as neatly with the rest of my Skaven, who’ve switched from the red colour-scheme of Clan Mors to a filthy yellow, and the paintjob shows its age, but don’t let that bring you down Queek – I still love you!

Queek Headtaker Convert Or Die (5)

Queek Headtaker Convert Or Die (6)

Queek Headtaker Convert Or Die (4)

Queek Headtaker Convert Or Die (3)

Queek Headtaker Convert Or Die (2)

Queek Headtaker Convert Or Die (1)

13 responses to “The Bane of the Bearded

  • imperialrebelork

    He works for me mate! Can you not just paint the red yellow to tie him in? I love the skull trophies mate. Very nice.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! I did think about changing the red to yellow but to me he’s Queek and Queek wears the red of Clan Mors. I see GW are selling him as “Skaven Warlord” now, which is fair enough and it’s good to see such an excellent model still in production, but I pre-ordered him when he was first released – I’m too programmed to see him as anything other than Queek now! (As an aside I notice that they’re still selling Thanquol and Boneripper under their real names – rather than as “Grey Seer on Rat Ogre” or something. I mean, it’s been thousands of years – how are they possibly still alive?!)

  • heretic30k

    Now that is a rat general and a half. He does seem to be in the wrong position – skaven ‘heroes’ always lead from the rear πŸ™‚

    • Wudugast

      Aye, poor old Queek, always letting his viciousness overcome a healthy instinct towards cowardice. Still, it should make sure he gets killed before usurping power from any of my rats…

  • Alex

    Lovely paint job mate, and such a classic mini. One can’t help but admire the level to which ‘rule of cool’ trumps any sense of practicality on this sculpt πŸ™‚

    • Wudugast

      I know – how could he possibly fight, or even move, wearing that thing? Mind you, it’s like all the bone trophies that Warhammer/40k characters carry into battle – those are getting smashed into little bits by the first club/sword/bullet that comes their way. And do Chaos lords ever remember that they’re wearing those wracks of spikes and they need to duck as they go through doorways or have they spent most of the long war impaled on low ceilings? Still looks awesome though! πŸ™‚

  • Thomas

    Now that’s a trophy rack if I’ve ever seen one. Hahaha, it’s like bigger than him. A 40k Chaos dude at least got powered armour and superhuman strength to carry their trophies around on the battle field.

    • Wudugast

      I know right – how big must the rat have been that that skeleton came from? I reckon he might be overcompensating for something but I’m not going to say so to his face!

  • Boyz Will Be Boyz – Part 2 | Convert or Die

    […] in the same box as Queek were these two Ork Kommandos. I built them a few years ago now, as part of a plan to build a full […]

Speak, damn you!

