Bretonnian Week: The Green Man

My friend Sam, who painted these and these amazing models, recently decided to have a bit of a clear out and offloaded a lot of his unpainted models onto me. Included amongst them was the Green Knight (although he also passed me several others which we’ll see in due course – plus the Cairn Wraith from last week). Since then he’s stood on my painting desk, sternly challenging me to paint him (the Green Knight that is, not Sam, that would be weird). As soon as the idea of doing a series of Bretonnian models occurred to me I knew his time had come. After all he is Bretonnia, a living avatar of the land and it’s immortal defender, so there could never be a better moment.

green-knight-convert-or-die-4

green-knight-convert-or-die-1

green-knight-convert-or-die-2

With retrospect I’m not entirely happy with the green stained metal armour on the horse’s head, I reckon it would have been better to keep all the armour the same colour, so I may go back and change that at some point.

green-knight-convert-or-die-3

It’s such an iconic model, and one I’m glad to have painted – especially as I would probably never have bought it myself (so thanks again if you’re reading this Sam!). Someday I may return to the character and convert my own, playing up the qualities of the green man and trying to further weave together the concepts of the knight and the ancient spirit of nature. In the meantime however your feedback and comments are, as ever, very welcome.

9 responses to “Bretonnian Week: The Green Man

  • imperialrebelork

    Wow!! I’m really enjoying these posts man. The Green Knight is the bomb! The green is so, we’ll green haha. Very cool indeed sir.

  • Thomas

    That model is such an iconic sculpt. So cool.

    • Wudugast

      Isn’t it just?! As I said it’s one I’ve always liked the look of but never got around to buying, and probably never would have. Once again however the generosity of my fellow hobbyists comes to the rescue.

  • Alex

    Lovely job there mate – tricky to get contrast and variety with such a limited palate, but you’ve totally nailed it! For what it’s worth, I really like the variation on the head plate 🙂

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! Yeah, it wasn’t always easy but it was a fun challenge nonetheless. I’m still not sure about the green head-plate though but I’m going to step back from the model for a little whilst before I make any changes.

  • Azazel

    Lovely work on an absolutely classic model. You could always stain the neck scale-plates to match the horse’s faceplate for consistency. Regardless, you’ve done a great job here and now I want to try and find my own Green Knight to paint.

    • Wudugast

      I did wonder about that. More and more I’m thinking that the metalwork on the horse all needs to match – either by repainting the headplate or by staining the neck armour green. My worry with the latter option is that it’ll make the overall model too green, at the moment I think the balance of colours is just about right.

      Will be keeping an eye out for a Green Knight of your own 🙂

Speak, damn you!

