Daemons Are A Ghoul’s Best Friend

Before tackling the Chapel, or any of the other forthcoming projects, there’s still the little matter of the living dead to be dealt with. After the struggle to get the skeleton’s painted tackling the ghouls was remarkably uncomplicated. Partly it’s the fact that ghouls are a lot easier to paint than skeletons, partly it’s that I really like the models (not that I have any bones with the skeletons mind you) and partly it’s that a combination of the previous factors means I did a much better job of painting them last time I tackled this project so there wasn’t nearly so much work involved this time round.

convert-or-die-ghouls-1

convert-or-die-ghouls-2

convert-or-die-ghouls-3

convert-or-die-ghouls-5

Although I first created this chap back in (roughly) 2010 he always makes me think of IRO, fellow blogger and fan of ghoulish jesters.

convert-or-die-ghouls-4

convert-or-die-ghouls-6

convert-or-die-ghouls-7

convert-or-die-ghouls-8

convert-or-die-ghouls-9

convert-or-die-ghouls-10

I’m sure you know the drill by now but any feedback or suggestions you have are more than welcome in the comments box.

19 responses to “Daemons Are A Ghoul’s Best Friend

  • imperialrebelork

    Great stuff mate. Their skin looks rotten and leathery like mouldy old Hyde. The Jester is cool. I love how clean the blue and red is compared to the rest of him. Thanks for the shout out man.

  • imperialrebelork

    These photos came up really well too.

  • Alex

    Lovely job mate, and that jester is brill! Top marks for title punning πŸ˜‰

  • heretic30k

    I love the blanchian grain & painterly quality to the ghouls – how do you get that skins colour? Also love the jester head – which kit is that from?

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! The jester hat is from the old Bretonnian men at arms kit. I remember getting it to fit was a bit of a nightmare, one of the first times I had to use greenstuff to get a component attached.

      To be honest I’m not entirely sure how I did the skin, in spite of wracking my brains over it. I painted these ghouls back in 2010 and just gave them a touch up where needed this year so my memory of exactly what I did is pretty hazy now I’m afraid. I imagine the effect could be recreated fairly easily with washes though.

  • FirBholg

    They’re just really fun – I like the way you’ve done the scars. The jester-ghoul is great too, feels like he’d fit in nicely with the current Flesheater Courts background. Very curious about this chapel…

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate!

      Yeah, you’re right enough now I think about it. When I first heard about the Flesheater Courts I was rather sceptical but really it just expands on the idea of the Ghoul Kings from Warhammer, which was always an unexplored element of the Vampire Counts I felt. Would be nice to see them get a new model or two, they don’t need much but it would really help them come into their own as a faction rather than remaining in Warhammer’s shadow.

      I think we’re all curious about the Chapel at the moment! My own ideas are starting to solidify but I’m still very curious about how they’re going to actually look once they’re done. Plus I’m very excited to see what the other participants come up with. In the meantime the best place to look is over on the Heresy of Us blog https://heresyofus.com/ as Mark there is the mastermind behind the whole thing.

      • FirBholg

        I figure it was at least interesting the way GW tried some different builds of existing kits to create more units. More models would definitely have been nice though.

        Also, looks like I now have another hobby blog to follow… πŸ˜€

      • Wudugast

        Re: Flesh-eater Courts: Yeah, that’s true enough, they’ve certainly been very creative in finding ways to get new units out of existing kits. I find I’m still stuck in a “Warhammer PV” whereby it’s still hard to get used to the new names and concepts behind the factions. Perhaps that’s a side effect of me failing to bother sufficiently, or being a luddite, or just that I’ve got many years more experience of Warhammer than I have of AoS, or maybe it’s that since AoS came out I’ve played a lot of Warhammer: Total War and no AoS at all. Nonetheless I still find it a bit confusing when I see factions that I’m familiar with from Warhammer appearing in AoS. They almost feel like placeholders which will someday be replaced by proper AoS factions like Stormcasts and Fyreslayers, which already feel far more like they belong in the setting. The Ironjaws and the Sylvaneth on the other hand show how a mix of new and old models can really form the basis of something new, creating something that belongs to the new setting without having to invest in a whole new suite of models. I do wonder how it is for those who’ve joined the hobby since AoS began and how they see factions like the Lizardmen and Flesh-eater Courts who’ve been essentially ported across (not to mention all those factions without a dedicated background like the Elves and Dwarves)?

        Re: Heresy of Us: Aye, there’s some cracking stuff there isn’t there?

  • Carlo

    The title is an instant classic! πŸ˜‰

Speak, damn you!

