Hounds At Your Back – Part 1

Here in the north of Scotland it’s still the depths of winter, daylight is short and the cold ever present. Undoubtedly the kind of conditions then for the dead to stir in their graves! Long ago I started work on an army of Vampire Counts which I planned to march forth from Sylvania and ensconce an undead Emperor upon the throne of Altdorf. Time, however, proved to be a cruel mistress to my corpse nation, I became captivated by Chaos – and the verminous swarms of the Skaven – and my interest in painting rank upon rank of skeletons waned. The dead returned to their crypts and waited with the infinite patience for which they are known. After all anyone familiar with the Warhammer background knows that the Von Carstein lineage has been believed stamped out many times but, as Holywood has taught us, the baddie always comes back to give us one last fright before the end.

Recently I’ve found myself re-examining my Undead Legions and regretting the decision to abandon them. Thus one of my plans for early 2017 is to resurrect those models I’d already acquired, finishing off part painted models, basing those in need of bases and painting those few which are still plagued by bare plastic. After that – who knows? Ironically the arrival of the Age of Sigmar, with its accompanying “Start Collecting” boxsets has made a Vampire Counts army into a far less expensive proposition than it once was. If I’m honest I doubt that this will really spark the resurgence of my undead minions but at least this way the models I’ve already bought can take a place of pride on the shelf rather than the dusty shame they were subject to before.

I’ll set the ball rolling at roughly the point where the project stalled all those years ago; with this pack of Dire Wolves. At the time when the project was abandoned I’d only painted three of them, including this Doom Wolf.

dire-wolves-convert-or-die-4

dire-wolves-convert-or-die-5

Like their alpha the other two beasts in the pack have been properly based.

dire-wolves-convert-or-die-1

dire-wolves-convert-or-die-3

dire-wolves-convert-or-die-2

And they’re joined by the first new miniature to join the armies of Sylvania in six years.

dire-wolves-convert-or-die-6

dire-wolves-convert-or-die-7

There’s plenty more on their way but until then remember; you can surrender and serve me in life… or you can die and slave for me in death…

9 responses to “Hounds At Your Back – Part 1

  • imperialrebelork

    Holy crap man these are so good!!! The colours the look the everything! Really cool man. You really know how to bring the dead to life my friend.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate – once again your enthusiasm for my creations is hugely appreciated (fragile artistic ego that demands gratification and all that).

      • imperialrebelork

        Haha. I didn’t realise you lived in Bonnie Scotland. Are you Scottish or just live there? I used to date a lady from Motherwell.

      • Wudugast

        That’s right mate, born and brought up here. Have been relatively nomadic as an adult, moving around the UK for work, but right now I’m right up on the far north coast, about as far as you can go and still be on the mainland. Absolutely stunning place to live but being closer to Reykjavík than London does make for a lack of winter daylight that plays hell with getting photographs of miniatures!

      • imperialrebelork

        Nice one. Bit chilly I imagine.

      • Wudugast

        Just a tad at this time of year. In the summer it can be amazing (sometimes – I’ve been out in blizzards in June, then swimming in the sea the next day). Winter is definitely for staying in the warm and painting miniatures though!

      • imperialrebelork

        Oh wow! That sounds like where I live. We are known to have 4 seasons in one day. Take today for example, it was pouring with rain on the way to work this morning and now I’m putting on sun block haha.

  • Alex

    Love these mate, cracking job! I’d never really seen them before, but now I neeeed some!

    • Wudugast

      They’re lovely models aren’t they (in a guts and decay kind of way!)? For some reason I don’t remember GW ever making much of them though, even when they were first released they didn’t seem to get the spotlight as much as other kits. I think the most attention they ever got was when people started using them as ‘counts as’ Thunder Wolves before there were models for those.

Speak, damn you!

