Weapon of Vanity

Cast your collective minds back to November and you may recall that hobbyist extraordinaire and soon-to-be bits producer HeresyOfUs was kind enough to send me some of his prototype Daemonic Femmes for me to turn my converting obsession upon. The first model to emerge from the seething pit of my imagination was this Slaaneshi gladiator and part time Daemonic Herald.

black-earth-demonic-femme-convert-or-die-3

Fast forward a month or so to today and here she is, fully painted and ready to show Khornate berserkers and Dark Eldar alike who really rules the arenas!

slaaneshi-gladiator-convert-or-die-heresyofus-2

slaaneshi-gladiator-convert-or-die-heresyofus-1

slaaneshi-gladiator-convert-or-die-heresyofus-3

slaaneshi-gladiator-convert-or-die-heresyofus-4

Huge thanks to HeresyOfUs once again – expect to see more twisted creations based on his Femmes coming soon…

26 responses to “Weapon of Vanity

  • Remnante

    Good job! I love how smooth the paintwork is on the legs 🙂

  • Thomas

    Awesome, dude! Cool model.

  • Alex

    Wow! That is really cool – I love all the weird texture on the back, and that shield is a trip! Love it mate! Still think those massive norks would make fighting tricky though 😉

    • Wudugast

      Aye, for me the whole “going into battle underdressed” thing only really works because she looks so unnatural overall. My reading of the character is that this is some kind of vat-born creature created as a host for a Slaaneshi daemon. I’ve actually got the whole set of Daemonic Femems and have challenged myself not to just make Daemonettes with them, but I am being tested by getting them right. Personally I absolutely hate seeing a few topless female characters shoe-horned into an army for no real reason beyond the hobbyist wanting to look edgy. However I equally feel that if one is prudish these aren’t the models for you and as Mark (of Heresy Of Us) was kind enough to send me the models for me to test out and give my opinions on I’m keen to do so without changing too much of their intrinsic nature.

      Anyway – glad you like them, I must confess I’m really rather pleased with the shield! I can see her adversaries being hypnotised by its unnatural colours and patterns and paying the price by getting stabbed.

      • Alex

        Oh, I agree with you re. gratuitous smut, but the nudity definitely doesn’t detract from this piece – it’s perfectly in theme with the character and makes sense even though exaggerated, (an ironic observation given the unfeasibility of a giant spear-arm!). Great stuff from Mark, and you certainly did her justice mate, I love this mini.

        On a childish note, are you sure it’s the shield that will be doing the hypnotising?? 😛

      • Wudugast

        Ha! I thought that final point myself – childish minds think alike! :p

  • imperialrebelork

    Fantastic Wudu! Really nice skin tone.

  • heresyofus

    Dude! I can’t tell you how happy to makes me to see you take my creation and make it your own. The work is exceptional and your feed back has been very welcome. I am in the process of remodeling the group a bit. I plan to make them a little more grotesque and individual without sacrificing the unit feel. Looking forward to seeing the rest.

    • Wudugast

      It must be fantastic to see someone else take your work and play with it creatively. I remember reading one of the GW designers (can’t recall which now) saying that was his favourite part of his job, seeing models he’d made be converted – and the more wild and varied conversions they lent themselves to the more he felt he’d done his job well.

      Thanks again for sending them my way, really excited about getting my teeth into the rest of the squad!

  • heresyofus

    Just a quick ask. Do you mind if I use these for Instagram?

  • Ann

    It certainly looks like someone/something that would be in a Slaneesh army or in a gladiatorial pit, gas mask and all!

    • Wudugast

      Thanks! My goal with the gas mask was to dehumanise the creature further, to place it firmly in the “uncanny valley”. What is behind the mask that even the followers of Slaanesh would conceal? The aim with the whole model was to keep it on the edge between human and alien with the hope that the result would be subtly disturbing. Plus it allowed me to hint at bondage and even narcotics without over-emphasising or exaggerating in a way that would take me away from the theme of the model.

      • Ann

        With Slaanesh you never know; perhaps the most hideous thing is concealed or perhaps the most pleasing as a form of irony?

    • Wudugast

      Well I hope you don’t feel this was a bum deal and you’re not feeling bummed out by the whole thing? I’m sure we’ll get to the bottom of it eventually! No fires were started so we can be sure that no arsenists were involved. Certainly I had no wish to cause a rumpus. I feel I’m scraping the bottom of the barrel here so this is probably a good moment to butt out…

  • iriselsewhere

    …Sorry, but you slightly broke my brain there! 😀

Speak, damn you!

