Exciting Times Lie Ahead!

Right, I don’t usually do over-excited, spur of the moment blog posts, but I just couldn’t miss this. For anyone who hasn’t seen it yet the ever-entertaining Warhammer TV team have just put up a video recapping the releases of 2016. All very nice, and justifiably self-congratulatory, but the real interest is in the last ten seconds or so as a series of images flicker across the screen. For those who still think that their previous claim that there were plastic Sisters of Battle coming up was just a joke this might be of interest…

saint-celestine-2017-preview

Based on that I think it’s fair to say that their claim that Saint Celestine is about to lead a crusade into the Cadian Gate might also not be a joke. Time for us Chaos fans to start working on our defences then…

imperial-preview-2017

Fans of the Adeptus Mechanicus (such as myself) might be a little more excited by this machine-man…

ad-mech-preview-2017

And it looks like we haven’t seen the last of Tzeentch either…

tzeentch-2017-preview-1tzeentch-2017-preview-2

Exciting times ahead indeed!

All Images belong, of course, to Games Workshop and are used without permission.

35 responses to “Exciting Times Lie Ahead!

  • Warburton

    I still have no idea whatsoever why anyone would want plastic models, but that female witch-hunter is pretty cool (except for the stupid crossbow bolter).

    • Krimdar

      Compared to white metal ones, plastic models are easier to convert, easier to transport, don’t chip all their painting, if they fall over and are mostly more detailled.
      Compared to resin the details aren’t that crisp, but you don’t have to put them in hot water to bend warped extension back to normal and fragile parts don’t break that easily.
      In total I’m a fan of plastic even if it feels cheaper than my 3rd edition models, but the advantages are clear. 🙂

      • Wudugast

        For me it’s mostly because plastic is easier to convert – I can put something together in half an hour in plastic, or several days of brute effort with metal. Older (metal) models also tend to be rarer, which means I’m not so keen to start chopping them up – and as converting is the keystone of the hobby for me, feeling able to do that easily is a big plus in my book.

        It’s also fair to say that I’m generally excited by new models – and new models tend to be in plastic. I also love a lot of old models but, thanks to ebay etc, those don’t really go away when they go out of production – they just get rarer. It’s why although I love GW’s past I tend not to be particularly nostalgic – nowadays we have everything we had in the past, plus everything we have now – whereas in the past we only had what was available then, and big dreams that someday we’d see the sort of things we see now.

      • Ann

        I also find plastic easier to work with, but more importantly for me I find it easier to transport large numbers of plastic models over metal due to the weight consideration.

    • Azazel

      Everything has its place, my friend…

  • Alex

    Wow, that’s a pretty nice set of releases! The AdMech guy is a beast, and the SoB & Tzaangors are really cool. Love that Witch Hunter though, I think she’s my fave… I wonder if they are going to release new plastics where needed for the Imperial Agents Codex?

    • Wudugast

      Funnily enough the witch hunter (Inquisitor Greyfax apparently) doesn’t really grab me. Technically, and aesthetically it’s all there, I can appreciate it as a model, but beyond that it’s not really my cup of tea. Likewise the sisters themselves, I’m excited for sisters fans – who’ve been very patient over the years and never once got passive aggressive or threw online tantrums about how unloved they are by GW – but I’m going to wait and see what else is in the pipeline for them before I decide if there’s anything there that can be cannibalised (Chaos Sisters? Could I make it a thing? Of course I could!) Those Tzeentchian chaps are very interesting though – and I note that there appears to be some kind of rocket battery on the back of the Kastelan robot, which suggests that the new Mechanicum priest might not be all that the Martians are getting

  • SLMNN

    Superb! They suggested that Saint Celestine leads black templars for the crusade at the Cadian Gate, what do you make of that?

    I’ve recently started working on Black Templars army with ordo hereticus allies. I also got hold of the Canoness Veridyan model so I’am excited to incorporate some sisters into the army too!

    • Wudugast

      Just a theory on my part, but I wonder if they’re planning to drip feed the Sisters releases out a little. The whole range needs to be revamped (unless they cut it down a great deal which I think would be unpopular) but equally not everyone wants to buy Sisters and having too many at the same time might not be such a hit with those fans. By tying them in to a series of narrative events however they could space it out a little. Thus Celestine and friends join the Black Templars for a crusade into the Eye of Terror, then later more sisters arrive to back her up/join the war around Cadia – thus filling out the units in the Agents of the Imperium book – and finally a third wave adds new units alongside a new codex. Just a wild bit of speculation though – I could be quite wrong on all fronts.

      Looking forward to seeing what you do with your Templars, they have one of the best aesthetics of all the loyal chapters, and it’s looking like you’ve picked them up at just the right time 🙂

  • Krimdar

    Still not sold on Celestine – she suffers from the AoS syndrome – a way too clean sculpt, but that’s what you get from CAD instead of good old handwork.

    But overall the models are really cool, plastic sisters on their way I suppose and the Tzeentch additions mean a Tzeentch-themed Beastmen warband for Mordheim. 😀

    • Wudugast

      I know what you mean about Celestine, I think I’d prefer her with different wings, but truth be told I’m not that excited about Sisters so it may just be my bias. I like her well enough but her bodyguards/sidekicks/pals/whoever they are don’t really grab me at all.

      Most of what they’ve shown us Tzeentch-wise appears to be based pretty closely on things we’ve already seen – there’s additional bits and bobs in there but much of it looks to be a reworking of stuff from Silver Tower and the Tzaangors kit. To me this suggests that the real goodies are still hidden, but we shall see… Either way I’m looking forward to seeing that Mordheim warband mate.

      • Krimdar

        Yeah, the wings are too tech-y and not crude enough for the Imperium. Using real feathered wings would look better. For her sidekicks I have to concur – I like them better than Celestine herself. 😀

        The warband is currently up in the air. One potential new Mordheim player for our map-based campaign is interested in the game, but wants to use parts from his existing Thousand Sons army. And to gain another player for the campaign outweighs a new own warband at the moment (not to mention all the other warbands that wait to be finished in one box or another. Including my cthulhoid Troll warband^^).

      • Wudugast

        Ah the eternal battle between all the part painted models waiting on the desk and all the exciting possibilities waiting to be purchased. Good luck with it mate – I’ve got aspirations of clearing my desk myself but if GW keeps putting out things like the Thousand Sons it’s not going to be easy!

        “Cthulhoid Troll warband” eh? Three words you can’t put together and not peak my interest! 🙂

      • Krimdar

        I think, the only way to clear the desk reliably would be quitting the hobby, which is of course beyond dispute.^^

        I don’t know, are these three words as intriguing as the phrase “New Mordheim setting in a sunken city filled with clockworks and primeval horrors”? 😀

        For about 3.5 years now, we’re working on a new supplement for Mordheim set in “The Sealed City”. It also has its own website: http://sealedcity.blogspot.de/

        The before mentioned warband is “The Brood of Ghurash”, the descendants of the Great Mother.

      • Wudugast

        Yeah that’s true. I used to promise myself that I would never be one of those guys with stacks of unpainted models sitting around. Alas even the best of us lose our way eventually.

        I like the look of that Mordheim setting a lot. It’s not a game I ever got into although it does appeal so I’ll be keeping a close eye 🙂

  • imperialrebelork

    “Over-Excited” is one of my, many, middle names. personally, what grabs me here is the Witch Hunter and the Adeptus dude. The sisters look a bit airy fairy to me haha. On the metal verses plastic thing I tend to lean towards plastic. 1 It’s easier to work with. 2 It’s cheaper. However I do have a soft spot for metal minis. Something I really only discovered for myself at the beginning of 2016. Each to their own I guess.

    • Wudugast

      Wow – we have the same middle name! Everyone I’ve spoken to seems to love the witch huntress so I think the day she’s released the GW execs can go home happy to lie in a bath of money and not worry too much that I’m not that sold on her. She is a nice model but to me she doesn’t look 40k, more like a Malifaux model with some Inquisitorial symbols on it.

      Now that tech-priest though – what a model! I’d want to move that mecha-tendril from his belly but otherwise I’m impressed. Apparently he’s roughly the same size as a Carnifex as well – a strapping young* man indeed!
      *or in his case very, very old.

  • Thomas

    Bring on the fall of Cadia and the Gathering Storm! GW obviously hates us Chaos players as they want us broke all the time. (Hahaha, just kidding, good times ahead.) I guess you’ve seen the teaser trailer. It gave me goosebumps. Literally, I got goosebumps.

    You know me views on boob armour, can you guess my views on high heels in a combat environment? What is this Toughest Girls type sculpts? Gaaaaagh.

    • Wudugast

      Massive goosebumps from that trailer mate! Have to admit when I started watching it I thought the voice was that of an Imperial commander (which I suppose it is… or was…). Hugely excited to see what 2017 brings for the Legions.

      As for the combat high heels – I think I’m fine with them (occasionally!) for special characters like Greyfax and Veridyan, because it ties into the Imperium’s gaudy impracticality – fashion over functionality. In that respect they’re not a world away from the Imperial Guard commanders in their starched dress-shirts – it’s not for fighting in, it’s for being seen in whilst some other poor sap does the fighting. I would however be disappointed to see them distributed willy-nilly to all the sisters and I’m very glad to see that Celestine and her friends aren’t wearing them, that would make for some crippling landings! Interestingly my girlfriend was telling me that when women are taught self-defence shoes with heels are often pointed out as a potential weapon. The advice is to pick shoes that one can take off at the first sign of trouble a) so she can run away faster and b)no matter how big and tough some guy is a high heel swung as hard as she can into his eye will bring him to a sudden and very painful stop. The narrow point of the heel focuses that force and easily compensates for any difference in strength. The first person to convert a diorama showing Greyfax hopping on one foot and walloping Abaddon in the eye with her shoe will win my eternal and very sincere respect.

      • Thomas

        Hahaha, every tool is a weapon. Check.

        The difference between a starched skirt or dress uniform or a hair skirt and stilettos is that wearing stilettos will eventually leave you on your back as you’ll lose balance a starched skirt will be a bit itchy. Potential deadly (for you) or uncomfortable, I’ll pick uncomfortable everyday. The problem with high heels like that is that it’s basically a boyish view of what a woman fighter should look like. It is so over the top that it breaks the illusion.

        I really liked Saint Celestine. I think they pretty much nailed it here. The lack of adornments and flair reinforced her Joan of Arc type vibe, the peasant girl turned in to this avenging warrior saint. Just brilliant.

      • Wudugast

        Quite agree mate. For the record my point about the dress shirt was that it too is impractical when going into battle. Less likely to end up falling over whilst getting chased down a hallway by a bunch of chaos cultists but still utterly lacking in the bullet stopping department. However I have to agree that when it comes to being badly prepared for warfare Greyfax wins it, the woman is a walking disaster area. Between the heels, the boob-armour, the crossbow gun and the highly flammable hat I think the Imperium will be pinning their hopes firmly on Celestine and Cawl to stop this one being a walk-over for Chaos! 🙂

      • Thomas

        You don’t use armour to stop bullets, that’s what you have faith for.

      • Krimdar

        Stopping bullets with… faith? Funny way to spell ‘conscripts’. 😀

        I definitely like heels and similar gear, that is just for style instead of practical reasoning. Especially killer heels remind me of John Blanche’s various works.

  • Ann

    I agree, those are some nice models. I particularly like the Celestine model and even though I don’t have a lot of interest in Sisters, I do like the sculpt.

    • Wudugast

      Personally the more I look at them the more I fall in love with Belisarius Cawl and the Tzaangors (sounds like the name of a band doesn’t it?). I just spotted that the Tzaangor Enlightened has a school of tiny screamers on his base – a really nice touch 🙂

  • Ann

    Yes, they are all certainly some very nice models. I like the paint job on the bird, which makes him look sort of like some sort of angry tropical vulture thing. I agree, the baby screamers are a nice touch.

Speak, damn you!

