Never Enough Dakka – Part 3

More Orks arrive, wielding more badly maintained shootas!

shoota-boyz-convert-or-die-2

shoota-boyz-convert-or-die-3

This one got a little extra work to add a GW Ork hat to a Spellcrow head. (I’m also rather pleased with his ‘crazy eyes’!)

shoota-boyz-convert-or-die-4

shoota-boyz-convert-or-die-1

shoota-boyz-convert-or-die-5

 

12 responses to “Never Enough Dakka – Part 3

  • imperialrebelork

    Very good. The Spellcrow heads are great.

  • Joe B.

    Dakka Dakka Dakka!
    I like the spell crow heads on them

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! If I’m honest I bought those heads then looked for a model to put them on, rather than the other way round. I’ve been loving the look of Orks in gasmasks since I saw the illustration of the kommandos in the previous edition of the Ork Codex.

  • Alex

    Tidy job mate – love the crazy yellow eyes!

  • Azazel

    Nice work on these guys. I’ve got some 3rd party heads, but no Spellcrow ones at this point. I might have to grab some down the line.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! The sheer range of 3rd-part Ork heads can be a little overwhelming at times but it does mean that whatever you want to do there’s probably a suitable noggin out there somewhere. It certainly makes my campaign to never repeat a head across my collection a little easier to achieve 🙂

  • Ann

    I particularly like the rust effects on the shootas, and I agree with the others that the gas masks are nice too. If you don’t mind my asking, how did you achieve the rust effect?

    • Wudugast

      Cheers Ann. No secret recipes here – it’s a base coat of a suitable metal colour (I use GW’s leadbelcher). Wash with Nuln oil. Wash with Agrax Earthshade. Heavy drybrush of a suitably orange-y brown, followed by a lighter drybrush of orange. Then paint the edges in the original metal colour anywhere that looks like it should be worn. Highlight silver if appropriate (i.e. places that are very worn, sharp etc). This last stage is good for fresh scratches or to make weapons look sharp – too much rust on the blade risks them looking blunt.
      Hope that helps 🙂

  • Ann

    Thank you very much, Wudgast, for the info. I’ll give it a try on some hapless cultist or boyz weapon!

Speak, damn you!

