Pure Hatred – Part 1

Before I take on the next batch of berserkers I wanted to give myself a little breather – but without actually deviating from the Khornate theme and wandering off to get lost in the tangled undergrowth of other projects that waits hungrily on the edge of my painting desk. That, I fear, is the way madness lies and so I won’t let anything sway me from my course – not Skaven, or Plague Marines, or those Orks I’ve been meaning to get round to for ages, or indeed anything that does not worship the Blood God with unrelenting fury. However a man cannot paint by power-armour alone and life is at its finest when there are lots of terminators around. Whilst a standard space marine (of either chaotic or loyalist persuasion) takes a little effort to look as good as it should a terminator looks fierce straight out of the box, lording it over its smaller, weaker brothers like the warrior-kings they are (indeed, by giving us access to imposing looking marines for minimal effort painting terminators is in many ways like true-scaling for lazy people!). This blog however doesn’t have ‘convert’ in its name for nothing. Time to start chopping up chaos terminators, khorne berserkers and wrathmongers.

I love the huge flails carried by the wrathmongers and they seem like the perfect weapon for a Khornate terminator – a man who combines the speed, skill and raw strength to wield such a weapon with the uncompromising desire to do as much damage as possible without caring about the danger to himself or any allies that stray too close. If I was writing or painting the scene I’d probably have the heads of flails on fire as well to add to the shock and horror inflicted on the poor guardsmen he’s attacking. However as I absolutely hate sculpted fire I decided to avoid that and stick to straightforward blunt trauma.

Berserker Terminator ConvertOrDie (1)

Berserker Terminator ConvertOrDie (3)

I’m rather pleased with the skull emerging from his armour under the shoulder pad – my little greenstuff reference to the skulls embedded in the flesh of the Age of Sigmar Khorne models.Berserker Terminator ConvertOrDie (5)

Berserker Terminator ConvertOrDie (4)

Berserker Terminator ConvertOrDie (2)

Nor is this angry man alone. His battle-brother is currently standing at the ‘part-painted; looks atrocious’ midway stage of painting but hopefully I’ll get him finished off over the weekend and show him off to you all early next week. In the meantime here’s a ‘pre-primer’ WIP to tide you over.

berserker_terminator_WIP ConvertOrDie (1)berserker_terminator_WIP ConvertOrDie (2)berserker_terminator_WIP ConvertOrDie (3)

As usual comments and feedback are welcome!

9 responses to “Pure Hatred – Part 1

  • Thomas

    Awesome work on the first one. The sense of motion and action is spot on, it looks really aggressive. I really like the way you brought out the head with your paint job.

    The second one is, too be frank, a bit stale in comparison. The “Come at me, bro!” pose is cool but I just prefer the first one more.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! With the first model there were quite a few ideas I wanted to try out that I didn’t use because I was afraid of overegging it. Hence the more restrained (and – I’ll be the first to agree with you – a little clichéd) pose for the second one; I wanted to create a blank canvas to work on. Hopefully it all works out now! 🙂

  • Alex

    Yeah, flailing chain man looks properly bonkers dude! Nice GS-fu on that shoulder plate, and tidy paint job (I really like that glowing green skull on the belt). He’s maybe a tad clean though… I imagine those twin flails would make a huge splatty mess!

    • Wudugast

      The green skull was a last minute addition – it was going to be plain old white but I’m glad I changed it. Originally I planned to really go for it with the blood spatter as, and it would be more realistic, but the paintjob came out a little too well and I got frightened of messing it up at the end. Some of the best painting advise I ever got was ‘know when to stop’. I did sit there for a while with an old toothbrush in one hand and a pot of Blood for the Blood God in the other but in the end I bottled it!

  • imperialrebelork

    I agree with Thomas. You captured the motion really well. He looks hell bent on charging full speed at the enemy lines! Swinging death as he goes. I think the other one has promise and will come to life once painted.

  • krautscientist

    Once again, some very cool conversion work! I am not a huge fan of those flails, and yet your first Terminator has made me reconsider actually adding a Terminator with similar armament to my own collection!

    The second guy is deliciously retro, mostly to the very hunchbacked look: He reminds me of a particular Mark Gibbons artwork showing a Chaos Terminator from the 2nd edition Codex Chaos. That’s also some excellent mixing and matching in order to make those Wrathmonger armour plates fit Terminator armour!

    • Wudugast

      Glad I’ve been an inspiration – looking forward to seeing what you do with the idea 🙂

      I love the sense of bulk in that image (if it’s the same one I’m thinking of). It creates an almost contemptuous level of threat, the appearance of a man who could destroy you without even needing to exert any effort. Although I didn’t (consciously) have that picture in mind when I was working on him I definitely wanted to reflect that old-school slightly hunched appearance (primarily created by slightly titling the head and torso). I also looked at the Blood Angel with the lightning claws from Space Hulk (itself clearly a big influence of the sergeant from the more recent BA terminator box) – a little reference to the feuds between the World Eaters and Blood Angels (one Legion that serves Khorne willingly and one that does so without even recognising it).

      And yes, there was a fair bit of trimming to get those armour plates to fit but I reckon it was well worth it in the end!

Speak, damn you!

