Erratic Progress – Part 2

Like a skaven itself my collection of man-sized rats progresses in fits and starts; bursts of frenetic activity followed by pauses of tail-twitching uncertainty. Indeed this was the reason behind the title for this series of blogs (actually who am I kidding? The whole thing was an excuse to make a pun on the word ‘rat’). Unlike, I suspect, the majority of people tackling a horde army like the Skaven, I prefer not to batch paint models. Few things strike me as more dreadful and tedious as spending an evening painting the boots on forty orks. To me every model is a character and should be painted as such, and although this doesn’t result in the overnight appearance of huge regiments I find the results when they eventually are completed to be more pleasing.

Anyway, let’s take a look at the latest additions.

New 4

New 1

New 2With this one I tried adding a lump of warpstone to the base. I’m not entirely convinced that it works that well but I’ll probably try a few more and see if the effect is improved by spreading it around the unit a little.New 3

I’ve also been working on updating a few of the older (red) skaven to the new colour scheme. Let’s take a look at some ‘before and after’s. Some of the ‘before’ images are less than brilliant photographically but there’s not much I can do about that now!

So there we have it Man-Things! As usual feedback is welcome so if you want to provide some obsequious high-pitched praise followed by vicious backstabbing feel free to do so in the comments box below.

10 responses to “Erratic Progress – Part 2

  • 3ldritch

    The warpstone looks good, just an idea though….have you thought about using it to source light a green tinge up the rat mans side?

    Also I much prefer the sickly yellow to the red, so thumbs up.

    I was also wondering, do you play any games with your miniatures or is your hobby more just the modelling and painting?

    • Wudugast

      You know, that’s a really good idea. I’ll experiment and see how it looks, but that might be just what’s needed to make the warpstone work. 🙂

      These days hobby is focussed entirely on painting/modelling/converting, it’s been a number of years since I played any games with them. I like to have a core of models that I could play games with if the occasion arises though. Beyond that I can let my hair down with the crazier conversions if I feel like it!

      Sorry to see you’ve taken your blog down by the way – I really liked your style. Hope you’re still painting – your stuff was amazing. 🙂

      • 3ldritch

        I appreciate that, thanks.

        Yeah i was getting fed up with the hobby to be honest and needed to take a step back, fresh start (first world problems right?).

        I did in fact restart a blog today so hopefully I should get something regular going. Again great work Wudu!

  • Thomas

    They look good with that yellow. Do you have any big war machines lined up for your rats too?

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! I’ve got a warp-lightning cannon but I bought it fully assembled from a friend and I’m going to need to disassemble and re-assemble it before I’m happy with it. I’ve also got a screaming bell (long time ambition that I’ve finally got around to realising). Neither are priorities at the moment though. Long term I really want a hellpit abomination as well but as usual I’m fighting the traditional (loosing) battle to paint what I own before I buy anything else!

  • imperialrebelork

    I’m really enjoying this project or yours. It’s igniting inspiration for me. I agree with the batch painting thing. The closest I have come to BP is when I started my Cadian force. I painted them all the same green but then when it came to detailing I made sure each one had his own look. My favourite Skaven from this pack is the one holding that huge cleaver. I love a nasty looking cleaver. Especially when it’s being wielded by some ungodly creature of the dark. Well done mate they’re all looking very, very cool.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate! I get a huge amount of inspiration from looking at other people’s work online so it’s nice to know I’m returning the favour 🙂

      Funnily enough the cleaver is my favourite weapon in the set as well (so expect to see it again as the collection grows – probably several times!). Partly it’s because it’s clearly been looted from whatever human city the Skaven are nesting beneath rather than being manufactured by them (I imagine them stealing it from a butcher’s shop whilst conducting a nocturnal raid to feed their growing nest) which gives them context, depth and a sense of being real; characters rather than simply gaming pieces.

      • imperialrebelork

        The cleaver is such a nasty looking weapon that wasn’t designed to be a weapon. You know how in movies the scared victim type always grabs the huge shiny cutting knife? I always wish they’d go for the Cleaver instead. A much more menacing and deadly utensil hehe.

  • Alex

    Very nice dude,the yellow really is a great choice – I bet it’s gonna look amazing in big units… Paint-paint man-thing!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate 🙂 Switching to yellow has given this project a huge boost – the urge to paint rats has returned in full swing! Plus it’s a nice change of pace from painting monochrome power armour all the time 😉

Speak, damn you!

