I Am The War

I often suspect that Games Workshop themselves don’t really know what to do with this model. He lacks the impact of a Chaos Lord, yet it too showy and corrupted to fit in with the unconverted rank and file. He’d make a good leader for the Dark Vengeance Chosen – except for the fact that they already have one. It remains a rather nice model regardless of this however and, given that they’re going for a song on ebay now, I picked one up to add to the Beasts of Ruin.Dark Vengeance Aspiring Champion ConvertOrDie (1)

I tried a few tricks to speed up the painting process – with some success – although I’m still refining the techniques, particularly when it comes to my use of washes.

Dark Vengeance Aspiring Champion ConvertOrDie (2)

Dark Vengeance Aspiring Champion ConvertOrDie (3)

Dark Vengeance Aspiring Champion ConvertOrDie (4)

Dark Vengeance Aspiring Champion ConvertOrDie (5)
I am rather pleased with the effect the washes have had on the axe blade however, it’s looking nicely corrupted.Soulless AxeAs usual your thoughts are welcome, so speak your mind in the comment’s box below.

18 responses to “I Am The War

  • heretic30k

    I really like this figure – since there are more parts it is quite a bit more dynamic than the rest of the DV set. Nice paint job. Still hoping get a multi-part kit in this styling at some point in the future!

    • Wudugast

      Aye, he’s a cracking model. GW have really shown they can do some impressive things with the plastic heroes. As for a multipart plastic kit in this style for Chaos Marines (one for each god and one for undivided obviously) – well it’s the dream isn’t it!

  • Alex

    Nice one dude, the washes look great – particularly nice effect on the helmet and the axe head. It’s a nice model, as you say, a bit understated for a lord, but I actually like that more tbh!

    • Wudugast

      I think the thing is if we’re going for the full-on super-mutated look then this chap is too toned down to be a lord – but if we’re going for the old-legions-stubbornly-still-fighting-the-Long-War 30k-marines-with-spikes look then he’s too mutated to fit in. Really he suits best as a sub-commander, but there isn’t really an option for that in the codex. Doesn’t really bother me as I’m more concerned with the look of my collection than with rules for a game I never play anyway but I suspect GW don’t quite know where he fits in to their current scheme of ‘a rule for every model, a model for every rule’.

      Cheers for the feedback, especially on the washes – I think I’m finally getting there with them! 🙂

  • beastofmanyshapes

    Can you give a brief rundown of the said techniques you are refining? Lovely/chaotic painting, still digging the style.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! 🙂 Mostly I’m trying to explore my use of layers and washes – nothing radically new to me in terms of techniques but trying to build up what I already do into something that allows me to get more out of complex models like this without getting bogged down. I really enjoy painting so I’m not looking for short-cuts, it’s more that I find myself getting frustrated by failing to consistently achieve the results I’m looking for and pouring hours into a single model to get results similar, or worse, than I achieve after 45mins on another. Much of the time I suspect it’s a case of over-thinking the process!

      Here I used multiple layers of washes to create the mutated, warp-touched effects on the axe head and armour, which meant using washes to an even greater extent than I have previously. I also tried spraying him using army-painter bone (or whatever the colour is? Don’t have the can handy at the moment to check). I think there might be a future in that technique, it definitely saves a lot of time on the armour, but it also adds a lot of effort to going back over the metal areas to paint the black base-coat back in. Where I didn’t do this it turned into a real faff so it’s worth just being patient and taking the time it needs.

  • Thomas

    I got this model but I don’t know what to do with him. I don’t need more Lords on foot or Aspiring Champs.

    • Wudugast

      I have a theory that originally this was supposed to be the Champion of the Chosen squad in Dark Vengeance and the model that ended up being the Champion was to be a Dark Apostle. If my focus was on putting together a collection for gaming with on a budget (which a lot of people are) I’d convert the DV Chosen Champion back into an Apostle and use this chap in his place. As it is I’m only really interested in the painting/modelling/back-story element of my collection so I see him as a lower ranked champion working his way up in the service of my overall Chaos Lord, taking on the missions that other Lords think are unworthy of them in order to demonstrate his service to the Gods, curry favour and make alliances ahead of his eventual power-play.

      As it is I wouldn’t worry about not knowing what to do with him – I’m not sure GW knows either!

  • imperialrebelork

    This is the best paint job I have ever seen for this model. He looks vicious! Great work man

  • imperialrebelork

    Yes. I guess it’s because it’s you’re own style and not what GW want him to be painted like.

  • The Emperor's Tarot

    I’m actually a big fan of this model, even if the other Dark Vengeance models aren’t really to my liking.

    Looks good though!

  • imperialrebelork

    I’ve come back for another look. He is fearsome!!

  • ejhenries

    Great work bud, I really like the muted tones and how you tie them together so well. It’s posts like these that really make me want to sit at the painting table and crack on with it!
    As for the model, he has rules as a HQ Aspiring champion which is bizarre. It was a single dataslate sheet for DV MkII I think. I was hoping that we’d see cultists led by brutal marine champions, as I’ve always like the scale comparison but it doesn’t matter out of game. Anyway, tangent over, great work as always.

    • Wudugast

      That’s right, I remember that now. Something Tattersoul was his name maybe? I agree that brutal marines leading squads of cultists would be an amazing image. I’ve never really played it so I don’t know how it compares gamewise but I always loved the imagery of the Tyrant’s Legion, a Space Marine elite driving disposable guardsmen into battle. It’s very much how I’ve often imagined the Imperium to be.
      Anyway, cheers for the feedback – if I’m encouraging someone else to get painting I must be doing something right! 🙂

      • ejhenries

        Ha, yeah I forgot that his name was a bit terrible. Totally agree about the Tyrant’s Legion, such a cool (harrowing for the guardsmen) concept.

Speak, damn you!

