In the Service of the Gods – Part 9

I found this poor old chap lurking in the bottom of the bits box. As models go these really show their age now, even alongside the ‘modern’ Chaos Marines – which are themselves often decried as fit for retirement. Sadly he proved to be suffering from a chronic mould-line problem which defied my best efforts to cure it and drained my enthusiasm for the project, hence the rather workmanlike paintjob.
For now I’m going to call a halt on the Chaos Marines – mainly because there are a few other projects I’m itching to work on. Until I return to them here’s a groupshot to tide you over.

14 responses to “In the Service of the Gods – Part 9

  • Carlo

    Why, the paint job doesn’t look bad at all! On the contrary, I have the impression you’ve been improving your skills lately. I like the checkered pattern and there seems to be something (a blueish or dark green wash at some point?) holding the whole palette together. Whatever it is, it’s effective. Way to go!

    • Wudugast

      It’s a green wash (by which I don’t mean to imply that I misrepresented my environmental credentials!) As for improving my painting I put it down to a combination of better photographs (trying to really showcase what I’ve painted to the best of my ability), having a more stable place to live and space to work in and really taking the time to try and improve my painting. Glad you think it shows!

  • Alex

    Yeah, I’m with Carlo – looks good to me mate, nice work on the cheques! The whole unit looks pretty damn awesome together 🙂

    • Wudugast

      Life is better with a friend – even if you’re a scary Chaos dude! I’ve never really got the knack of painting cheques before but I think I’m getting there at last. Cheers for the positive feedback mate 🙂

  • imperialrebelork

    I like him. I can’t see lines? Maybe you have scraped and carved so many lines off in your years that you are constantly seeing them haha. I like his bright red eye! Evil man. The group shot looks great. What an awesome, nay, fearsome band of heathens.

  • heresyofus

    Great group shot! The whole festering unit looks fab mate and the texture and colour you achieved with the armour is awesome. Well done.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers 🙂 with the last squad of Chaos Marines I worked on them over such a long period that my style and skill in both painting and converting changed radically. I’m still pleased with them but I really wanted to focus this time and create something that worked well as a unit as well as a series of individuals. Thanks for the feedback!

  • Iron Commander

    The paintjob looks brilliant, man! And that helmet is downright fearsome. As a whole, the unit looks like a rotting, disease-ridden horde- really effective 🙂

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate – maybe I just stared at it so long all I can see is it’s flaws! Then again I think that’s how you know you’ve created good art – when other people see it’s qualities and not the grief it gave you getting there!
      The helmet is rather nice isn’t it? Sadly it’s not a separate component, I’ve found a couple more of these guys so might see if I can manage some head swaps without completely knackering the models. If I do at least I’ll know what to expect from the mould lines!

      • Iron Commander

        Haha, doing all those cheques must have caused a lot of grief I reckon! It looks ace, trust us!

        The helmet is brutal, but I understand how frustrating and exhausting a conversion is when the bloody head is fixed on haha 🙂

  • ejhenries

    Ditto with all of the above. Considering the models age, I think you’ve done great with him. Plus I’m suffering from hobbie nostalgiosis at the moment, so that improves my already high opinion of him!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate 🙂 I think the whole process of working on him was, for me, a struggle between nostalgia for the good old days and relief that modern models are better! Not sure which emotion won out in the end to be honest!

Speak, damn you!

