Impurity Shall Be Our Armour

Right, after all that hugging let’s get back to the serious business that is the war against the Emperor of Mankind and his misguided subjects. Like the Imperial Guard regiments from which they rebelled traitor infantry platoons contain a command squad led by an officer or, in their case, a demagogue. The term comes from the ancient Greeks and referred to a leader who arose from among the working people, often through the application of violence and the exploitation of catastrophe. With that in mind I put together this brute. My aim was to suggest someone who had been a common soldier prior to whatever rebellion led his regiment to Chaos and who had since risen through the ranks by vicious faith and aggression.


As well as being tough enough to lead the traitor regiment into battle he also has to look like he could keep these two in line – otherwise one or other will inevitably try to seize power.

With him done I’m going to need to assemble a third squad but my plan is to take a break from the traitor rank and file for a while to work on some other projects. In the meantime your thoughts are, as ever, welcome in the comment’s box.

18 responses to “Impurity Shall Be Our Armour

  • krautscientist

    I love the latest guy, and he perfectly embodies the qualities yiu describe! I do think he needs an axe or a wickedly curved blade in his right hand, though.

    Keep up the great work!

    • Wudugast

      Glad you like him 🙂 Originally I went for the raised fist because it seemed so emblematic of what I wanted the model to represent; proud and rebellious. To me it suggested both that he was punching the air, extorting his followers to victory, and shaking his fist at the enemy.

      Having said that I might be tempted to change it, for the right axe! What I have in mind is something with a long thin blade, not over heavy in his hand (he looks macho enough without over-egging it with a big axe). I have one or two kicking around which might do the business – I’ll dig them out and see how they look.

  • imperialrebelork

    Awesome mate. He’s a brute. Where did his torso come from? Chaos marauders?

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! He’s actually quite a simple conversion; the whole body (legs, torso, and the raised arm) comes from the charioteer from the Warriors of Chaos Chariot. The only really fiddly bit was rebuilding the left shoulder (his left – our right) – I took the opportunity to practice with the greenstuff a little to finish off the strap and add in the rusty armour plates.

  • Remnante

    He’s so cool, maybe even my favourite so far!
    I’ve got to agree with krautscientist though, he needs a blade. How else is he going to get peoples heads off? 😛

    • Wudugast

      Hmmm… Now you’ve pointed that out it does raise a certain narrative question about him doesn’t it? Cheers for the compliments – I’ll have a rummage in the bits box and see if a suitable axe comes to hand 🙂

      • Remnante

        Well it’s either that or he literally tears their heads off with his bare hands. I’m not sure which is scarier! Seriously though, it’s a brilliant model 🙂

  • Alex

    Nice job dude – I do love that head… one of my favourites!

  • bigbossredskullz

    Now that’s a cool brute! A blade or something similar on his belt wouldn’t be amiss 🙂

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! Yeah, I’m increasingly thinking he needs some kind of blade. Want to keep him fairly minimalist though, I like the way he looks like he could batter his way through an enemy army using just his fists.

  • Carlo

    Lovely! And he doesn’t really need a blade, he looks like he could have bit those heads off with his teeth 😉

  • Impurity Is Still Our Armour | Convert or Die

    […] I first showed you this model of a chaos demagogue a few weeks ago several readers pointed out something that should have been obvious to me – but of course […]

Speak, damn you!

