The Evil That Men Do

Right, after that brief dalliance with the uncaring Throne-World let’s get back to more important matters – the rise of a horde of ragged traitors. I know I’ve said it before but I’m really getting a lot out of my current traitor guard project. It’s something I’ve wanted to work on for a long time so it’s exciting to have the chance to finally get to grips with it. What’s more the models themselves respond well to simple conversions with the result that one can quickly create a warband that is both cohesive and chaotic.convert-or-die-traitor-guard-11

convert-or-die-traitor-guard-12

convert-or-die-traitor-guard-13Just in case any of you are thinking ‘this is a con – he showed us that model the other week!’ I can assure you it’s not true, they just happen to look similar (and here’s the proof). Perhaps they’re brothers?convert-or-die-traitor-guard-14Of course even oath-breaking scum and the dregs of the galaxy know that life is better with a friend, so here’s another one to keep him company.convert-or-die-traitor-guard-9

convert-or-die-traitor-guard-10As usual feedback is welcome!

19 responses to “The Evil That Men Do

  • novafix

    I like the look of these wretches!

  • imperialrebelork

    Coooool, the second model is utterly bad arse. How…what… is that circular saw backpack thing??? Or is it a sprocket from my old BMX? Either way it looks great. I really like that you could pick one of your models out from the crowd. The rusty and bleak tones are your signature my friend and a very cool one at that. Great work. Can you take some group shots of all the traitors together please? You must have a fair few of these heretic scumbags now surely? Do you play the game or is it all about modelling for you?

    • Wudugast

      The backpack is a bit off an ork weapon (a flash git’s gun if I recall correctly). As for how it works or what it does I’m not entirely sure, I like to play with the imagination a little bit. One of my favourite things about the 40k art work is looking at something worn/carried/wielded by a character and wondering what on earth it might be for. In the superstitious, inward looking world of 40k probably even the character themselves doesn’t know. Whatever that backpack does though it can’t be anything pleasant!

      As for your request for a group shot, it is duly noted. I’m currently moving house so it may not be easy to muster the ranks in the one place but a shot or two of this squad gathered together should be easy enough.

      For me the game itself has never been that important. I’ve tried to learn the rules once or twice but really I’m primarily about the modelling and painting. Not that I would dismiss playing a game if the opportunity arose but its not my priority (and looking good will always be the most important quality of a model for me, rather than how well it performs in the game or being WYSIWYG).

      • imperialrebelork

        Hehe. Ditto on the gaming front. There are sooooo many rules. One day I’d like someone to take me under their wing and show me the ropes as I’m sure i’d enjoy it. In the past my mates and I have enjoyed bastardized, custom, watered down, made up rules versions of the game which was a lot of fun.

      • Wudugast

        We need more bastardized, custom, watered down, made up rules versions of the game. Back in the old days, when I played more games of this type, I often fell into the trap of thinking there was a right way to do things, as though it was brain surgery, or a legal defence, or the summoning of a daemonic legion, where any deviation from the rules (as sent down in tables of stone from the Olympus of Nottingham) would surely lead to disaster. It doesn’t. We cut up and convert our models, we write our own scenarios, we invent our own background fiction, we should be more comfortable breaking the rules – so long as the aim of the exercise remains for all players to have a good time nothing else matters.

        Hope you find someone to teach you the game (maybe just try walking in to your local GW and asking) – I think there’s a lot of fun to be had with it 🙂

      • imperialrebelork

        I actually heard the national anthem playing as I read your speech. Hehe. Well said sir. I don’t conform in any other way so why start with table top warfare?! Nothing against the guys at GW, they’re very helpful when discussing painting technique etc, but I get lost with their gibberish haha. I buy my shit and get the hell out.

  • imperialrebelork

    I like the first model too but the second is very much my cup of tea.

  • bigbossredskullz

    You’re just churning them out aren’t you 🙂 Great job and it’ll be fun to see them all together.

  • Alex

    Another pair of (un)worthy additions to the horde mate – lovely work 🙂

  • Toni

    Nice! I really get a star wars sand people vibe from these, which is super fitting. The masks with red lens frames are particularly disturbing! Very new approach to the idea of traitor guard. These guys with fittingly converted vehicles will be a great sight on a table.
    However I’d like to see more washes instead of drybrushes. When I see clear brushmarks it detracts from the illusion of looking at a character and I’m brought back to the world of little plastic statues again. And the character in these is so strong that I’d like to see some extra love put into their portrayal. Even if they are just a tagged horde..

    • Wudugast

      Cheers. I wasn’t entirely sure about the red lenses to begin with, I wanted them to look stark and painted on, deliberately vivid like clown make-up but I was concerned that they might be more reminiscent of the ‘one harsh layer of paint and it’s done’ phase that I (and I’m sure all of us) went through with our first models.

      As for vehicles I’ve definitely got plans in that direction – although I’ve never painted a tank before so it’ll be time for another sharp learning curve I suspect!

      I’ll admit that it’s taken me a while to get to grips with using washes (I know – strange man that I am – they’re really terribly straightforward!). I do still fall back into the pattern of washes for flesh, layers for armour, layers then drybrushing for cloth, which is a bit of a sin I know. Cheers for the tip (and any others you may have) – I shall endeavour to change my ways! 🙂

  • heretic30k

    Very nice work here – reminds me of the traitor guard I started when I got back into the hobby around 6 years ago, but much better executed! I do need to try & dig them out and touch them up as they were very much a three colours minimum and wash paintjob. I mainly used the beastmen bits and the empire flagellants mixed with some IG parts as that predated the current GW cultists by quite some time.

    • Wudugast

      Thanks! You should definitely restore your traitors, I did something similar with my Orks a year ago and it’s very satisfying to see them given a new lease of life (plus in a lot of cases the legwork is already done, you just need to put a little shine on them). I’ll be keeping an eye out for them 🙂

  • Iron Commander

    Brilliant work, man 🙂

Speak, damn you!

