Troops of Doom

These men were loyal once. They fought, suffered and died in the Emperor’s name. Yet in the end their faithfulness bought them nothing. Their calls for reinforcements went unheard and they became a battered, broken force. Many were badly injured, all were badly painted. Some were missing arms, weapons, even heads. When high command finally recognised their plight their relief was short-lived. They were packaged up and, to their humiliation, sold on ebay.

Honestly, it’s enough to make anyone turn to chaos…traitor-guard-convert-or-die-mutants-1

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-mutants-2

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-mutants-3
Continuing my efforts to build up a nice horde of tech-barbarian scum and disenchanted former-Imperials here’s a couple more additions to the new squad. I find the chap above to have a particularly creepy ‘killer clown’ face but the man-in-in-the-iron-mask (below) isn’t going to be winning any glamour contests either.traitor-guard-convert-or-die-mutants-4

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-mutants-5The heads, incidentally, are from Pig Iron Productions (scary clown man) and Puppets War (equally scary metal mask). Loyal citizens of the Imperium will be sorry to hear there’s still plenty more to come but if the rest of you heretics have anything you’d like to chip in you know your thoughts are always welcome.

16 responses to “Troops of Doom

  • Carlo

    I’ll check out those heads, they seem like they will fit nicely in one of the two heretic / dystopian projects I have, and that I will probably just think about for ages before actually having the time to begin… Also, the intro text is hilarious and very well written, keep it coming!

    • Wudugast

      Based on what I’ve seen I’d recommend both suppliers. Some of the pig iron heads can be a little big for guardsmen but luckily I’ve got space marines needing heads as well.
      Glad you liked the intro – I sat down to upload the post, realised I didn’t have any words to go with the pictures and that’s what my brain produced at short notice. Perhaps I should use this technique more often!

  • Alex

    Brilliant work mate, rescuing an unloved, broken mini is such a noble thing 🙂

  • imperialrebelork

    I’m loving this project sir. The iron mask fella is a mean looking bastard and the clown goon looks frazzled. Great work. I bought some old IG dudes on eBay recently too but they are going the opposite way. They will be cleaned up, spruced up, repainted and made all shiny and nice and ready to die, probably very quickly, on the battlefield. Yayy to canon fodder and or human shields. Yayyyy…..

  • imperialrebelork

    PS
    Pig Iron rocks and I just received a little package from Puppets war today coincidentally.

  • vongutenboom

    This is a good idea. I might have to make some Necromunda troops this way, salvaging half forgoten minis only half assembled in bagas at the bot of the bitz box… Well i say box its more of a 16 gallon storage tub 😀

    • Wudugast

      That sounds a lot like my own bitzbox. We always preach the importance of saving every spare component and battered old miniature for future conversions, we never mention the back ache that comes from trying to move the damn thing! Looking forward to seeing your Necromunda troops if you make them 🙂

  • ejhenries

    Fully agree with Carlo, that intro was spot on. Great work as always bud.

  • iriselsewhere

    As you know I have no idea what you are talking about most of the time, but I’m getting drawn into it nonetheless… though I’m beginning to worry for your safety. Please tell me you keep these locked away somewhere where, when they inevitably become sentient and try to murder us all, they will at least have a little trouble escaping!

    • Wudugast

      Now when you say you don’t know what I’m talking about most of the time, it that in general or just on this blog? Actually perhaps it’s best not to answer that… And in answer to your question, I suspect every hobbyist views their models as a living host of characters, and dreams of commanding their ranks in a manner that simply gaming with them will never fully capture. So perhaps it’s safest to assume that when they attain life and sentience I will be the one to set them free!

  • Thousand Eyes

    Haha love that intro text and a nice project for sure.

    I am thinking of starting a corrupted Spire Guard to go along with my Thousand Sons and will be using similar ideas. Cheers.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers – I’m really enjoying traitor guard (particularly pleasing as I’ve planned to make them for so long and only recently got around to it). I highly recommend making some of your own. Will you be incorporating any beastmen – if I recall correctly they were the native population of the Planet of the Sorcerers before the Sons arrived?

Speak, damn you!

