No Guts, No Glory – Part 6

In the last post I showed you some Nurgle Terminators I’ve been working on (still building up the gut of the standard bearer for anyone who’s wondering). Did I ride a wave of Nurgley enthusiasm and get paint on some of the models I’ve already built? Did I hell! No, I made more! Here’s the first of two new additions to my Chosen of Nurgle – a big fat brute with a flame-thrower.

As you can see the basic model is finished but there’s still a bit of work to be done, particularly around the head where I’ll be building up the greenstuff to cover the join between the Space Marine helmet, the Blightking neck and the horn. I also went for the old grey-scale images, partly because it helps cover up the jarring colour combinations from scavenged, part-painted bitz but mostly because it makes me look super arty and cool.

Joining him – and so new he doesn’t even have a base yet – is the squad’s champion.

I’m really pleased with him (no false modesty here!) especially as I’ve been wanting to use that model with the huge mouth in his stomach for ages. It’s just so classically old-school chaos, no mere warrior down on his luck and dabbling with the dark powers but a fully fledged servant of the mad gods, a walking embodiment of their savage insanity.

Anyway, thoughts on either of them? Apart from ‘put a base on the champion or he’ll fall over’. As usual comments, feedback and suggestions are welcome in the box below.

12 responses to “No Guts, No Glory – Part 6

  • imperialrebelork

    They both look brilliant man but the Champion is my pick. Is that a long tongue coming out of his stomach-mouth? If so where does it reach around to? Haha. As always you have outdone yourself. Looking forward to seeing them both painted.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! Yeah, that’s a long tongue (don’t know what else you might be implying – this isn’t Slaanesh! 😉 ). It’s lifted straight from the Putrid Blightking that forms the basis of the model. It’s not easy to make out in the picture but its licking a decapitated head tied to the model’s belt. (I’m sure now the innuendo-jar is open there’s all kinds of places that could lead us…)

  • Alex

    Lovely job – this lot are hoing yo look amazing when they’re all done. That champ’s helmet is especially cool 🙂

  • Alex

    *going to*… Having a fat-thumb day :-/

    • Wudugast

      Isn’t it interesting how our eyes read what we expect, not what’s actually there? Didn’t see the typo at all until I read your second post.
      Anyway, glad you like them 🙂

  • bigbossredskullz

    They’re both great 🙂 For the champ, he should have a big clunky backpack to balance the giant claw.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers 🙂
      Regarding the backpack I keep thinking about that. I think it’s a good idea but I’ve yet to create something I’m entirely happy with. I think partly because I’m really pleased with him I don’t want to screw it up with a duff backpack – but equally because I’m pleased with him I should go the extra mile and make sure that the finished result really matches my expectations. I’ll have a play and see if something comes together.

  • Somet

    The Champion is particularly splendid. ‘A fully fledged servant of the mad gods, a walking embodiment of their savage insanity’ sums this model up perfectly. Constructive criticism? Put a base on him or he’ll fall over… 😉 Great work.

Speak, damn you!

