The Virtues of the Beast

In the last post I talked about my scheme to make some Chaos Marines based on the Personal Attributes table in Slaves to Darkness, and how it all fell apart a little. Never mind, those marines who were chosen have survived and clawed their way off the painting desk. Last time I showed a two-faced marine, now it’s the turn of this beast-faced individual.

This time credit for selecting the number goes to Alex at Leadballoony who, as well as being as a thoroughly interesting person to chat to via this blog, also has a regularly inspiring blog of his own – go and check it out. He selected number 151 which apparently is a favourite number of his youngest son. Please, Alex, in the interest of good parenting, if your child has an ounce of artistic taste, never show him this miniature!

Consulting the attribute table I discovered that 151 equates to a ‘bestial face’ which this guy certainly has. I’ll admit it isn’t the best model I’ve made, not by a long shot. Anyone of a sensitive disposition should look away now.

Damn he’s ugly. Really it’s no wonder – I started out without a clear plan, and still managed to drift from it. Even the nature of the beast changed (my original plan was a pig believe it or not). I decided that I wanted to avoid anything too traditionally beastman-ish (i.e. no goats) or space-wolfish (no dogs allowed!). Mostly, then, I made things difficult for myself and ended up with something that looks a little bit like a racoon having a bad day.

What makes him special then, and what stopped me from throwing him at the wall in a temper tantrum and starting over, is just how much I learned from working on him, particularly when it comes to working with greenstuff and the freehand eye on his chest. In fact there are many elements to him that I really fought with but afterwards I felt I’d developed my skills and that means that, alongside a guilty relief that he’s done at last, I’m also feeling rather proud.

Anyway, you may be thinking ‘who cares about this feel good, I’m proud, shit! He looks like an evil pug with bad teeth! Stop this hugging and learning and show us something decent!” Alright then – calm down, no need to shout! I’ll try to get another Nurgly chap ready to show you over the weekend, ok?

6 responses to “The Virtues of the Beast

Speak, damn you!

