Show ’em You’ve Got Guts!

It’s hard to believe but today the Putrid Blightkings are one year old. In that time they’ve become a firm favourite of hobbyists, making their way into Nurgle armies around the world. To celebrate our fat, evil baby’s first birthday I’d like to take a look back at what I’ve managed to do with the kit over the last year. However this isn’t just about reminiscing so let’s set the ball rolling by showing something I’ve actually managed to finish off – the first of my Chosen of Nurgle.

I mentioned when I first built him that I felt I hadn’t been that adventurous in converting him but now he’s finished I’m glad I stuck to my guns (or in his case simply stuck a gun to him). As a model he already stands out as a simply fantastic miniature so any wild or elaborate conversion work just wasn’t needed. And, as we shall see, I have managed to get a few crazy conversions out of the kit.

He’s joined in the squad by these two chaps (still awaiting paint).

I’m still planning to make two more for a complete squad, and yes it is embarrassing that I’ve only managed to build three despite having had a year to work on them. Thanks for mentioning that in front of everyone. Jeez!

When the Blightkings were first released I waxed rather enthusiastic about them, rattling off a list of ideas that probably meant next to nothing to anyone beside myself. At one point I claimed that I could foresee using them “or all kinds of Nurgle worshipping characters, ranging from Sorcerers and Dark Apostles up to a Daemon Prince”. Now the Sorcerer remains to appear, and the Dark Apostle ended up looking like this instead, but the Daemon Prince is finished at least.
He’s far and away the biggest and craziest thing I’ve managed to create from the Blightkings so far, as well as one of the most nerve wracking things I’ve ever put together, but the end result remains one of my favourite miniatures in the collection. You can read more about him here.

In my review of the kit I went on to suggest turning the Blightkings into Plague Ogrens or Nurgle Obliterators although once I had them in hand my suspicion that they were far too small was confirmed. I went on to suggest however: “Another possibility, and one which serves to balance out the size issue, would be to have one or two Blightkings wired or grafted into a motile, semi-sentient weapons platform.” My idea was for something not dissimilar to this demented contraption (and if you want to know more about it the place to look is here) but with the pilot physically wired in as with a Dreadnaught.
herald-of-nurgle-convert-or-die-11Anyway, this idea stuck with me and, although the original (fairly weird) concept has yet to see fruition, it did lead to the evolution of this rotund gentleman. You can find the story of how he came to be here and here.

Having discounted using them as Obliterators for the moment (and by the way Games Workshop, one year on we still don’t have decent models for them) I started thinking about what else they could be turned to. I already had the feeling they’d be too big to use as normal Plague Marines and so I started considering making Nurgle Possessed instead. As it was this idea evolved into the Nurgle Chosen you see above.

One thing that’s worth mentioning about the Blightkings, and makes them quite unusual, is the diversity in size of the heads. It’s worth noting here that there are 17 of them (I‘ve not counted them, Games Workshop’s advertising blurb told me so and they would never lie to me). These range from chunky bonces that look big on a Terminator, to little pin-heads that fit a guardsman. This is rather handy and allows the heads in the middle to be used on Plague Marines like the ones below. However it’s also worth being aware, especially if you’re buying a specific head separate from the rest of the kit through one of the third party bits sites.


I also said that I didn’t expect Gutrot Spume to be nearly as popular with convertors and, in my experience, this has proved to be correct. Having said that I’d still be curious to see what can be done with the model if it was brought into the 41st Millennium so if you know of any good conversions put a link in the box below.

The one thing I’ve not talked about much here are Nurgle Terminators, although many of the Blightking parts are a neat fit for this. My reticence is, in part, because my own efforts to make Nurgle Terminators based on the Blightkings hit the wall in short order and have yet to really bounce back. However I am starting to feel inspired in this direction once more so let’s give it some time and see what happens.

In the meantime hopefully you’ve enjoyed this look back at the Blightkings one year on and, as usual, if you have any comments or suggestions, know of any conversions based on this kit you think should be showcased or just want to be congratulated for having bothered to read this far, let me know in the comments box below.

15 responses to “Show ’em You’ve Got Guts!

  • Alex

    Nice retrospective dude, ’tis indeed a fine kit for conversions – if your stuck for inspiration, I’d love to see some decent Obliterators… Spellcrow have just released some new arms that might help 😉

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! Inspiration is something I’ve never been stuck for. Time/money/the ability to focus on one project at a time – these are the things I’m sorely lacking!

      Those arms are rather cool though and would look great on Obliterators. I wonder how big they are? Judging by the price I’m thinking more of a size to fit Blightkings/Terminators… Yup, my head’s buzzing with ideas again – you’re really not helping me concentrate you know ;-p

  • rustymagos

    Some great stuff here! I’ve always loved nurgle models for the potential for conversions

    • Wudugast

      Thanks! I think the ease of converting actually one of my favourite things about Nurgle (and Orks for that matter) and probably goes some way to explaining their enduring popularity. I’m sure a lot of people, like me, started out looking at a Nurgle conversion and thinking ‘I could do that’.

  • Thomas

    That’s one seriously cool collection of models. Well done (and keep ’em coming)!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers mate! There’s definitely more to come – for one thing I’m getting quite excited about the Terminators again since I wrote this so expect to see them sooner or later. 🙂

  • imperialrebelork

    I’m thinking of doing a Nurgle Legion eventually. They look fun to model and paint. Any advice oh Master of the plague?

    • Wudugast

      Master of Plague? I like it – think I’ll put that on my CV!

      As for making some Nurgle followers I think it’s a great idea – they are fantastic fun to make and paint. My tips (apart from ‘do it!’ of course) would be:

      1. Green is so passé. Green is for Orks. It works on Nurgle but try some browns, yellows, purples and other bruise colours as well.

      2. Greenstuff is your friend. This is a cracking chance to play with greenstuff for all those guts and sores (and Nurgle is particularly forgiving of any screw ups that come from the learning curve).

      3. Nurgle should be dirty but that’s not an excuse to be sloppy. So often I see people do a shoddy job when painting Nurgle and then go ‘well it’s Nurgle innit?’ No excuse dammit, none at all!

      4. Get some spares from the Plaguebearers and the Blightkings kits and distribute as required. Both kits are an absolute goldmine for bits – but keep in mind that the Blightkings bits are not all one size – some are human sized, some suit marines better, some are big enough for terminators.

      5. Buy a pot of Nurgle’s rot special effect paint – you’ll need it. As an aside making nasty toxic green gloop on the bases is fantastic fun.

      6. I recommend using Agrellan Earth to create a flaking metal effect. It takes a little care to pull off but I think it’s a really nice effect. I talked about how to do it here: https://convertordie.wordpress.com/2014/04/14/follow-the-reaper/

      7. If you’ve not been glued to the Convertorum over the last few weeks get yourself over there now and look at what Jeff Vader’s been up to http://convertorum.blogspot.co.uk/ The man is basically god and the warband of Lord Mawgut Gloop is one of my favourite Nurgle collections ever.

      8. Eight is the number of Khorne so I dare not risk the wrath of the Gods by giving you an eighth tip. That is all.

      • imperialrebelork

        Wow thanks man!! I have copied this reply and tips and emailed it to myself. How clever am I???? Haha. I’m excited to experiment with guys and goop and pustules hehe. I won’t be starting this project just yet as I am determined to knock out some of my older and already planned projects. There’s not enough hours in the day. Oh and yes I promise to swallow my fear, buy some greenstuff and experiment with it. I don’t know what I’m so worried about? Cheers again mate. I really appreciate and have absorbed the tips.

      • Wudugast

        Greenstuff is tricky, but it’s also loads of fun. I’d say start simple and work your way up. Don’t forget to use a bit of Vaseline or similar on your sculpting tools and fingers to stop it sticking. Oh and once you’ve sculpted something you’re really pleased with put it aside and don’t touch it for several hours at least, don’t pick the model up ten minutes later like a fool and crush the bit you just made (like I’ve done… more than once…) Good luck!

      • imperialrebelork

        Ok cool and noted. So this may sound silly but how does the greenstuff stick tot he model just glue? So make the piece then glue it on? Or will it naturally stick to the model and once it’s cured, hold fast?

      • Wudugast

        Not a daft question at all. The latter is the answer – greenstuff loves sticking to basically anything (the model, tools, your fingers, whatever). By that I don’t mean its sticky like glue but it will cling to anything, hence why you should use something like vaseline on your fingers/sculpting tools/anything else you don’t want it to stick to – otherwise it’ll cling to them and whatever you’ve made will get pulled out of shape. Also you can gently smooth over any finger prints you might have left on the model using your fingertip so long as you’ve put a little vaseline on it – otherwise you’ll just add more fingerprints (obviously).

        A word to the wise – and something I didn’t know and found out recently – greenstuff really irritates any mucus membranes so mind you don’t rub your eyes (or pick your nose!) whilst using it.

        Once its cured greenstuff can also be stuck down like anything else with a dab of glue. A good thing for practicing is just to make some simple objects that can then be used to decorate bases. Skulls are good for this; they’re really easy – just a round blob with holes for eyes and a nose – and you can never have too many skulls in 40k! If you mess up there’s no harm done, just throw it away, but if it looks good then there’s something you can use at the end.

        Be warned – there is a bit of a learning curve with it, you’ll probably be cursing my name very quickly for ever encouraging you into this. Practice on something you’re not too bothered about. Once you get the knack of it though it’s great fun and very useful. Good luck!

      • imperialrebelork

        You have been very helpful my friend. I’m actually excited to give it a go.

Speak, damn you!

