It does not matter how the galaxy burns, only that it does!

Well would you look at that – this blog just passed 10,000 views. Either someone out there is pressing ‘refresh’ a lot or people are actually reading this! I know it hardly makes me a blogging rockstar but, coming so close on the heels of my 100th post, it’s exciting and humbling all in one. Now seems as good a time as any then to say thanks to everyone who’s read my posts, or just looked at the pictures, and especially to those of you who’ve commented, made suggestions or generally inspired me. Cheers all!

Anyway, lets nip this soppy appreciation and back-patting in the bud and crack on shall we? As well as all the ogrens, psykers, ratlings, sentinel and everything else that’s joining my traitor guard force I’m still working away on the rank and file themselves, the backbone of my treacherous tech-barbarian horde. After all someone has to do the actual work.
traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-6

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-7

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-8

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-9

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-19

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-20

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-21

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-22

traitor-guard-convert-or-die-traitors-23As I’ve mentioned before I love the idea of massive swarms of these guys rushing ahead of their Chaos Marine masters – I just need to keep myself from getting distracted by other wacky ideas and get on with them.

12 responses to “It does not matter how the galaxy burns, only that it does!

  • bigbossredskullz

    Loads of those guys would be really cool! My fav is nr 2 🙂

    • Wudugast

      Cheers, I will plough resolutely onwards (unless something distracts me…). Personally my favourite of this set is either 1 or 2, I put more of myself into 2 but I really love the Forge World chaos militia and the head/torso I used for 1 is one of the best they make.

  • Alex

    Very cool, they look awesome and congrats on the milestone 😉 Question – what are those bits on the base of number 3?

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! The bits of the base of number 3 is the flail from a Warhammer Empire Flagellant. I lopped it off so I could use the arm for something or other (can’t get enough of those flagellant arms) and then realised how, with the right paint, it could look like some kind of nasty razorwire or similar.

  • beastofmanyshapes

    I am a huge fan of the Blanche style of painting (Although my own is far removed from it). In my mind this is what 40k is, beautifully disturbing. Really great to see a whole blog dedicated to it. Great work!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers 🙂 I’m also a big fan of Blanche, and the whole scene associated with him and Inq28 (although I’d hesitate to put myself on a par with some of the luminaries within that ‘genre’). I once read an interview with one of the designers working on Warhammer at the time (this must have been a few years ago now) who described the world as having an ‘aura of grubby madness’ and it really stuck with me. I love the decaying grandeur of the Imperium, the way nothing really works as its meant to any more, no-one really knows what half the technology they posses is actually for and everyone’s just muddling along, too wrapped up in their own suspicion and superstition to really understand what’s happening. It really is the ‘beggar in rags sitting on a pile of gold’, punch drunk and arrogant about its power but for all the wrong reasons. And yet it’s not a mournful setting, the Imperium doesn’t know its doomed and thus there is a certain exuberance to its characters, they know it’s bad but they’ve no idea how bad it really is and so they carry on bullishly – thinking they’re too big to fail.
      Your own stuff is cracking by the way, I need to sit down and take a proper look at it – (anyone reading this take a nosy at the beast’s blog, I think you’ll like it). https://beastofmanyshapes.wordpress.com/

  • Ann Wycoff

    Congrats on your 10,000 views. 🙂

    Yeah, it would make for a great spectacle to see a horde of these albino misfits scrabbling ahead of your more elite forces. As an opponent I’d probably get a little distracted by all the horns, bifurcated tongues, tentacles, open sores and so on. “Almost a shame to thunderfire cannon them,” as one admired their diseased goodness!

    • Wudugast

      Thanks. For a minute or so there I felt a tiny bit famous 🙂

      I really like the artwork that accompanies 40k, the huge battle scenes with some elite warrior in the heart of a swirling mass of the rank and file and weird, titanic warmachines battling in the background. I really want to capture that image with my collection. Spectacle is exactly the word I would use as well, and very much something I’d like to aim for.

      Speaking of thunderfire cannons I do wish GW would stop making librarians in terminator armour for ten minutes and sort us out a plastic tech-marine and thunderfire cannon. Not that I’d be able to resist sticking spikes on it of course…

      • Ann Wycoff

        Yes, I would like a plastic TFC too. I have a metal one built some years ago that sees a bit of use from time to time, and I noticed they’ve gone to resin for the current model.

        You know, you wouldn’t think that a TFC would be beyond the power of your average warpsmith. They could use all of the different gods for the various ammunition types. For example, those no cover save burning Khorne skulls could be the analogue to the air burst ammunition….

      • Wudugast

        That would be pretty cool. If I remember rightly there is something similar to a TFC in Imperial Armour 13, can’t remember much about it though.

        I suppose its the old question, how many loyalist toys should be available to chaos players? From a strict fiction-following perspective; all of it. After all there’s pretty much nothing in the loyalists arsenal that couldn’t be stolen/salvaged/taken with them when they rebelled by the heretics. Of course no-one wants Chaos Marines to be a mirror of Space Marines plus spikes and different rules. We want unique items to make the range stand on its own.

        As a painter and modeller primarily I’m quite happy to loot anything from the loyalist ranges and turn it into a chaos equivalent. Gaming is a little more tricky and really depends on how strict a person wants to be/what the other player’s reasons are for choosing to loot the other side. As someone who almost never plays I may be making quite a grand claim here but I feel that if someone set up opposite me with a carefully converted collection of Fallen Angels, mixing elements of the Dark Angels and Chaos (as an example) I’d be a fool not to play them – what a chance to see a unique army capturing an iconic part of the background in action! But if they had only done it to exploit some clever combination of rules I wouldn’t play them twice.

  • Ann Wycoff

    Well, I suspect (besides the obviously point your brought up about not wanting the factions to play the same) that perhaps some of the problems with gear is from a logistics standpoint. Sure, they may have the thunderfire cannon, but not ready access to spare parts, ammunition, and so on. If the imperial forces have lost their ability to adapt, improvise, etc. and rely on finding lost technology instead, I can’t imagine their traitor counterparts would be better.

    Yes, I agree with you. I’ll play against just about anything that seems like there is some imagination to it or at least doesn’t come across as an over-powered exploit. With some of the new rules I’ve been seeing this year I don’t really think people need to use exploits — some of the new formations and detachments are pretty powerful just on their own.

    However, one thing I’ve noticed started playing with the Khorne daemons. I really need a skull cannon or something of that nature. Running through terrain and fighting last, despite being so fast in some cases, has my daemons quite sad.

    • Wudugast

      You make a good point about the logistics but I don’t see the traitors as hidebound and unable to adapt in the way that the loyalists are. They’re more than happy to push the boundaries of knowledge and develop new things in a way the loyalists never would. Their problem is a lack of resources. The loyalists have everything they could possibly want, somewhere in the Imperium, their problem is getting access to it through the logistical, bureaucratic nightmare that they have to work with. Their chaos counterparts are much more flexible, but have to make do with whatever the Eye provides. So although they might have a new TFC today because they stole it yesterday by the end of the week it’ll have run out of ammunition, forcing them to develop new ways of arming it – with the result that it soon turns into a self-propelled semi-sentient machine beast that has to be chained down to stop it eating the crew. Which I suppose answers my own question about why they don’t have thunderfire cannons…

      Anyway, speaking of demonic artillery pieces, I too need to get to work on a Skull Cannon, I just need to work out what I’m going to do about that piddly little gun it’s armed with. Really the only weapon in the GW range that should be outsize and instead its tichy…

Speak, damn you!

