Outbreak of Evil

I’m still forging ahead with my new traitor guard project but let’s take a quick break from them because they’re not the only thing on my painting table. I’m also working on a fairly big, and extremely complex, Daemon Prince of Nurgle but I’m hanging fire on showing it to you until it’s finished – mainly because until then it’ll be in twelve disparate bits and I’m not entirely sure how, or even if, it’s going to work out. In the meantime, in order to keep me fresh and stop me succumbing to ‘big model panic’, I’ve also been working on a few more plaguebearers to join the Rotten Souls. plaguebearers-of-nurgle-convert-or-die-2

plaguebearers-of-nurgle-convert-or-die-5

plaguebearers-of-nurgle-convert-or-die-20

plaguebearers-of-nurgle-convert-or-die-21

plaguebearers-of-nurgle-convert-or-die-8

plaguebearers-of-nurgle-convert-or-die-9

plaguebearers-of-nurgle-convert-or-die-19

13 responses to “Outbreak of Evil

  • Arkhangelsk

    Looking forward to seeing this deamon prince. I understand big model panic but Im sure it will look great like these plague bearers! Do you have a how-to or just colour indication painting for them?

    • Wudugast

      Thanks 🙂 My painting technique tends to be a bit ad hoc so doesn’t lend itself well to tutorials but I’ll do my best! Base coat them black, then drybrush them shadow grey (old GW paint), then lighter grey, then Tyrant Skull. The guts got a wash of Blood For The Blood God but Nurgle’s Rot gives a nice effect as well. Rusty metal starts of with Ironbreaker, then gets a series of filthy washes – whatever I have to hand – and drybrushed brown and orange. Hope that helps 🙂

      • Arkhangelsk

        Yeah the guts are good, its good to see daemons that are painted a bit differently from what GW paints them. Looking forward to a Nurgle daemonkin?

      • Wudugast

        Nurgle Daemonkin would be great but to be honest I’d be more exited by seeing the Dark Prince or the Changer of Ways getting a crack at the whip for once. The only reason I have so much Nurgle/Khorne in my collection is that they have more and better models to work with, let’s get the other two off the benches and give them some attention at last!

  • Ann Wycoff

    I like your plague bearers, they look nice. Don’t know if it would improve anything or not, but if you wanted to go for a “fresh” look on the intestines and gloop that is coming out of their abdomens, you could use a gloss lacquer on those bits maybe?

    • Wudugast

      Thanks. I know it doesn’t show up well in the photos (something I really should have spotted before now!) but I tried giving them a wash of Blood For The Blood God on the guts. The pictures don’t really capture it but I think it looks pretty grisly!

      • Ann Wycoff

        Yes, that Blood for the Blood God wash is really good stuff. I use it a lot myself.

      • Wudugast

        I’ve said it before but I really think the Special Effects paints are just amazing, one of the best things Games Workshop have done. How did we even live without them? If they expand that range my money is theirs already!

  • Alex

    Lovely colour scheme, makes a nice change from the usual lurid green we are all so used to seeing – very well executed. looking forward to seeing the big guy!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers 🙂 I deliberately steered away from the lurid green, I wanted something that looked distinctly Nurgle whilst still tying them in with the Khornate and Slaaneshi daemons, and my chaos marines.

  • Ruins of Arotha

    Aye, I agree with Ann. The technical paint range will really help give these something that little bit extra.

    https://ruinsofarotha.wordpress.com/2015/06/20/herald-of-nurgle/

    • Wudugast

      Good tip, I’m a massive fan of the technical range – especially when it comes to Nurgle. I actually used a lot of Blood For The Blood God on the guts but I don’t think the pictures really capture it (unfortunately).

Speak, damn you!

