Dreams of Blood And Iron

‘‘All of the souls you will reap.

All of your spoils of war.

To be a keeper of the Forge.

But a trifle price for the boon

that is bestowed upon you.’’

– Extract from the Iron Pact

Maulerfiend

There were a lot of divisive models released alongside Codex: Chaos Space Marines back in autumn 2012 but people got really stirred up over the Maulerfiend. A lot of commenters have hated it – but never mind them eh, I loved it!

The codex itself has also come in for a fair amount of abuse (when do they not?) but in spite of whatever flaws the hardcore gamers might see it’s hard to deny that it was a sturdy expansion on what came before, bringing in many of the elements overlooked by its predecessor. Alongside the traditional factions affiliated with each of the gods, we also saw the ragged human cults and the Dark Apostles that lead them, and the horrifying daemon-engines of the Dark Mechanicus. Obviously it goes without saying that they could have done more (and who doesn’t wish that were so?) but by the same token they could very easily have done less.

Maulerfiend

The Maulerfiend is a powerful model; stocky, brutish and dangerous. It is also remarkably free of rampant mutations and god-marks (although of course clever converters everywhere have been adding them). It is not, then, the form that a daemon would have chosen necessarily, but it serves well enough, it is fit for purpose. Mortal hands made this weapon, and bound its malevolent scrap-code soul within. Too often men are depicted only as slaves to the Gods, yet the path of Chaos is forged from a desire for personal power. We do not throw off the chains of the Emperor simply out of a desire to be shackled by the primordial forces of the Warp. Thus it becomes a game of power. Some will be possessed, or decline into wailing spawn, some will become princes and trade freedom for immortality. A few will hold to their pride, hacking off their mutated limbs and replacing them with bionic substitutes, armouring themselves in bitter stoicism and remaining free. This multifaceted struggle between the Gods and their would-be pawns is part of what makes Chaos so compelling for me (that and the chance – no, expectation – to convert absolutely everything I touch).

Incidentally the daemon trapped inside this hulking iron monster is named Cynothoglys and was bound by my Warpsmith Sheb-Teth as part of the pact that brought him into Kell’s service.

Maulerfiend

Maulerfiend

Maulerfiend

Maulerfiend

A close up of the screaming mouths in the chimneys. Frankly they’re just too horrifying not to take the chance to play with the special effects paints. Hopefully the drooling blood helps add to the narrative of the machine, un-burnt fuel spilling from the exhausts as it’s pushed to the limit of its capacity.

Maulerfiend

Just because I really like the model doesn’t mean it was easy to paint of course. I bought it within a few weeks of its release and started work on it straightaway. Not that I’ve spent the entire intervening time working on it of course – most of the time I’ve let frustration and procrastination get in the way – but the realisation that it’s a year older than this blog helped give me the final push to get him finished.

As well as the Maulerfiend the kit can also be assembled as a Forgefiend, its sister model which brings the long-range firepower to compliment the Mauler’s close-combat brutality. As it happens I ended up buying a second Maulerfiend body in amongst some other bits and realised that, by picking up a few extra components, I could now add a Forgefiend to the collection. Here we go again then – the Long War is never over!

8 responses to “Dreams of Blood And Iron

  • Alex

    Very nice mate – cracking paint job, subtle conversion work… he’s a beast! I’m definitely in the ‘yes’ camp when it comes to the Maulerfiend model, but not so sure about the Forgefiend… something about gun-heads that leave me cold… I’m hoping you can make one that I like! 😉

    Nice Cthulhu nod btw 😉

    • Wudugast

      Don’t rely on my Forgefiend winning you round – the ‘gun head’ element is one of the things I really like about the model. Not to worry – I shall steel myself for your dismay when he’s finished! ;-p

      Truth be told the whole army is full of Lovecraftian nods, I was starting to wonder if no-one had noticed! I like having every model and unit in the army named, but I’m not that great at thinking of good names ‘in quantity’ so a little bit of homage was inevitable 🙂

      • Alex

        haha – I’m sure we can agree to disagree on the FF – but I’m sure you’ll do an awesome job and I’m ready to have my mind changed 😉

        I know what you mean about names btw – my Wolves should be easy though, I have a lot of Swedish colleagues!

  • Ann Wycoff

    I like the paint scheme you chose and also the conversion you did for the tail. I couldn’t decide between the tentacles and the magma cutters so I ended up magnetizing mine.

    From a gaming standpoint I think it isn’t bad at all. Its biggest asset in my opinion being its speed. I’ve never run one but I’ve played against them quite a lot and have found them not overwhelming but certainly solid.

    What sold me on it though was the beauty of the model.

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! 🙂
      For me it’s all about the look of the thing. I do quite like the magma cutters but the mechatendrils were just too cool not to use. Plus the magma cutters are small enough that there must be a conversion out there that uses them – once I work out what it is their time will come!

  • Thomas

    Sweet model. Great colours and paint job. Maulerfiends are just awesome on the tabletop, the speed makes it possible to catch more or less any enemy unit. 125/135 pts is a steel. But one dies easily, I’m looking forward to run a double Maulerfiend list once I finish my converted one.

  • Demonic Munitions | Convert or Die

    […] may recall that way back in May of last year I showed you this Maulerfiend. Like a lot of Games Workshop’s kits it actually makes two models based off a single chassis – […]

Speak, damn you!

