Big Mouth Strikes Again

You may recall that a few weeks ago I showed you Aghkam Poxspeaker, my Dark Apostle of Nurgle. I’ll admit that, as time passed, I started to feel a little bit dissatisfied but it wasn’t until KrautScientist put in his thoughts that I realised what was bothering me. That hideous mouth, which should be the disgusting centre point to the model, was a bit of a missed opportunity. Obviously I wasn’t going to let that stand so I separated him from the troops for a second round with the paintbrush.
As a reminder, here’s how he used to look.
PoxspeakerAnd here’s how he ended up looking. Hopefully you’ll agree it’s an improvement.
PoxspeakerWhat startled me, as I started to work on him, was how intricately sculpted the inside of his throat turned out to be – almost as if his creators intended this kind of effect. 😉
PoxspeakerPoxspeakerI also noticed that the back of his skull seems to have suffered a particularly unpleasant wound at some stage so I decided that if I was going to have him looking gory and disgusting I might as well go the whole hog!
Poxspeaker As usual if you’ve got any thoughts or suggestions put them in the box below (unless you think I should put his throat back to the way it was – you can keep that suggestion to yourself!)

8 responses to “Big Mouth Strikes Again

  • Laertes

    If I were you, I think I will try to add some purulent fluid dropping from his mouth. Not too much, for it would end up obscuring the inner details, just a some small asimmetric drops/filaments.

    • Wudugast

      I think I know what you’re describing (and I like the idea although it’s not a big space to work in) but I can’t say I really know how it’s done. What do you use to create the clear droplets? Any tips or tutorials you could point me at?

      • Laertes

        I never tried them myself, but I have read about many ways to make the droplets, from heating and modelling clear plastic, to applying clear glue on a thin wire (like a brush hair) to using a glue gun. On such a small surface I think a precision use of the glue gun would be the better solution.

  • Ann Wycoff

    Yup, it certainly is an improvement. I agree with Laertes, I think his suggestion is a good one.

    • Wudugast

      Then faced with such agreement who am I to argue? 😉 As I said to Laertes I just don’t really know how it’s done, but if you can give me some directions I’ll certainly give it a shot!

  • krautscientist

    Much better! Regarding slime and goo dripping from this guy’s maw, what about taking a look at Nurgle’s Rot? It does have a rather green colour, bit it should work well enough for the intended effect. And I think the model would profit enormously from a set of bone-coloured highlights on the teeth surrounding that horrible mouth!

    Keep up the excellent work!

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! As it stands I think Nurgle’s Rot wins out over the glue gun simply because I have a pot of Nurgle’s Rot in front of me and I don’t even own a glue gun. Got a few ideas about how to apply it for maximum grossness but will need to have a play about and see what works. Good point about sticking an extra highlight on the teeth as well 🙂

  • 2015 – For Anyone Who Missed It | Convert or Die

    […] followers of Chaos Undivided. One to consecrate the skulls taken in Khorne’s name. And one to preach to the servants of Nurgle, from the smallest virus to the mightiest Daemon Prince. Obviously that means I ought to make one […]

Speak, damn you!

