Days of Rage

Back in January, when I showed off the rest of my Chaos Terminators, I claimed, with a faintly pretentious air of mystery, that there was a tenth member of the squad which was yet to be revealed. I’d removed him from the squad in order to start a new – Khorne worshipping – terminator squad which he would lead. Now it’s time for the big reveal.
The timing of this is no coincidence. Rumour has it that the next – some say final – phase of the Warhammer End Times are upon us and reinforcements for the followers of the Blood God are just around the Khorner (see what I did there? I know, I know, I’m a funny man). As a result I’ve been fired with enthusiasm for all things Khorne and finally got myself in gear to upload pictures of this chap, as well as working on getting two of his followers painted and assembling a fourth (see below).IMG_9135

IMG_9137

IMG_9140

IMG_9143

IMG_9146

IMG_9150

His name, by the way, is Sapir Redwolf and his squad are the Skullrippers (no prizes but if you know where the names come from but feel free to have a little boast in the comments box below – I’m one of the few people in the world who’ll be impressed so show off whilst you can!) I made the hulking angry brute a while ago, intending him to serve as the ferocious and power-hungry second in command of my Chaos Terminators, the Blessed Slaughter. Since then however I’ve grown rather fond of him, and frankly he looks too fierce and proud to be anyone’s right-hand man for very long. In my mind only my Chaos Lord Kalamoon Kell possesses the sheer presence and authority to bring him to heel.

I also can’t imagine that having someone like the Redwolf remain part of my main Terminator squad would make anyone terribly happy. Sapir and squad champion Avar the Twisted would undoubtedly be locked in a struggle for command, whilst Kell can hardly rely on the effectiveness of his Terminator elite if Sapir spends the greater part of every battle lost to his rage and bloodlust. Plus it doesn’t make me happy to see this model used as one of the rank-and-file when he should be standing proud in command.

Put all these factors together with the fact that I need no excuse whatsoever to make more Chaos Terminators and I decided to promote Sapir, and create a new squad – The Skullrippers – commanded by him and dedicated to Khorne.

At the moment I’ve got three members of his squad on the painting desk. As it stands two of them are at the ‘faintly rubbish looking’ half-finished stage, with lots of undercoated armour panels, unfinished washes, no highlights, you know the drill. Unfortunately I was so carried away by enthusiasm that I never took photos of them before I started so I’ll hang fire on showing them and get them finished, photographed and posted up soon.

However, common sense eventually took root and I remembered to grab a couple of photos of this fourth member of the squad before he went out to the shed to be undercoated.

Khorne TerminatorKhorne Terminator

Last of all we have this chap, undoubtedly still a ‘work in progress’. As you can see I’ve just tacked on a spare left arm for the moment to get a feel for how he’ll look once he’s finished. He won’t be joining the Skullrippers but instead will be stepping into the vacated role in the Blessed Slaughter and bringing the numbers back up to a full squad of ten.

Chaos TermiChaos Terminator

And that’s it until next time – when hopefully I’ll have at least one more angry man of Khorne to show off. As always comments, feedback and bellows of fury are welcome in the box below.

7 responses to “Days of Rage

Speak, damn you!

