The Engine of Death

Thy shall not suffer a Machine to think! For ruin shall be its purpose and accursed its work
– Archmagos Takashi Ludd (From Forgeworld’s “The Horus Heresy: Massacre”)
Defiler
Getting into Chaos before the most recent codex arrived didn’t offer a lot of interest in terms of the bigger warmachines. There were plenty of weird and warped engines of destruction lurking in the background of the artwork but unleashing them onto the tabletop wasn’t so easy. Before Forgefiends, Maulerfiends and Heldrakes all we really had were the same tanks as our loyalist brothers, but covered in spikes to make it clear we were the bad guys. This was, of course, excluding the Defiler, which stood out as a truly chaotic vehicle and the obvious centrepiece for any army of the Dark Gods. Perhaps because of this I harboured a long standing ambition to add one to my own Beasts of Ruin.
Defiler
I picked it up pre-assembled (and based coated) off Ebay so ended up doing very little conversion work on it. I’ve seen plenty of cracking conversions out there (and have a few ideas of my own) so might make a second some day but I wanted to have at least one of these classic monsters assembled ‘as nature intended’. As a side note, whilst buying it pre-assembled saved me having to build this monster myself it did leave me unable to paint it in sub-assemblies which would have made my life a lot easier.
DefilerDefilerDefilerDefiler
As I’ve mentioned before I can be a bit of a coward with big kits, preferring smaller infantry sized models, but I bit the bullet, faced my fears, and I’m rather pleased with what I came up with. At some point I’ll get some better pictures of him as he doesn’t look quite right in these (that face at the back looks pretty funky doesn’t it?) but for the meantime this finishes our post-Christmas look through old projects. Something new next week!

8 responses to “The Engine of Death

  • Ruins of Arotha

    That’s a cool paint scheme, very interesting. I concur, the Defiler is a must-have in a CSM army. I have 2 of them as well, never leave home without at least 1….

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! I wanted a paint scheme that wasn’t automatically indicative of any of the official legions or warbands to give me a bit of freedom to do my own thing (which is tricky because pretty much every colour scheme is already taken). The defiler was my first time using it on something large, quite a different process to painting smaller models but one I learned a lot from – which I think shows in the Heldrake and (soon to be finished!) Maulerfiend.

  • Ann Wycoff

    Fancy. 🙂 Yes, I can be the same way — I also find that I usually prefer painting smaller, infantry-sized models to the bigger kits.

    • Wudugast

      I think it’s partly the sense of satisfaction with finishing a model – even if I really pour my soul into an infantryman it still doesn’t take that long, whereas the bigger models need so much more effort before you reach that warm glow of success! Plus you can relax with an infantryman (there’s a quote for the ages!) knowing that if he comes out looking rubbish you can hide him in the back of the squad and no-one will ever know. Whereas a big monster or vehicle will be picked up and examined by everyone that sees your army so it’s harder to hide. Then again you get a much bigger sense of satisfaction with a well painted ‘big kit’ so it all works out in the end 🙂

      • Ann Wycoff

        That’s all very true. The worst though, are big kits that are very low points in games and generally are relegated to support roles, but to be at their most effective you need multiples of them … like drop pods.

        And, yes, I’ve often thought that to myself with a model that isn’t coming out, “Well, whose going to see him in a unit of 30 other guys?”

      • Wudugast

        See, I love the idea of deploying a whole space marine army by drop-pod – it’s just so full of character and drama! But the thought of painting all those drop-pods (even as a fan of the model)? No thanks! If it’s a big kit it should be in the limelight 🙂

  • Alex

    Very nice… it certainly has presence, and I know first hand what a pain they can be in a game!! I know what you mean with big kits, they can be daunting but it’s worth biting the bullet… Generally, I find it nice to mix and match with squads, characters and big stuff to keep things fresh on the painting front 🙂

    • Wudugast

      I’m similar, in that I tend to mix and match stuff, painting whatever has me enthusiastic at the time. I usually have a mixture of everything on my desk at any given moment – which means that although I can finish a miniature fairly quickly if I focus on it I usually end up taking a lot longer simply because I flit from one project to another (take my corrupted Imperial Knight that I’ve been working on since at least August for instance – I’ve got one fully painted leg, one base coated leg, and the rest isn’t even assembled. Ah well…). I don’t like gaming with unpainted miniatures but luckily I a)don’t game very much and b)have enough painted miniatures already that I don’t need to lose too much sleep over my sluggardly progress!

Speak, damn you!

