Get To Da Choppa!

At last – bloody minded stubbornness carries the day, the orky-revamp is done! Last on the tally of models in need of a touch up we have this squad of deffcopters.

First up, the squadron leader – marked out with a suitably impressive trophy skull.

deffcopter-convert-or-die-3

deffcopter-convert-or-die-4

deffcopter-convert-or-die-5

To be honest deffcopters have never really grabbed me in the same way as other orky models, which may be the reason they’ve ended up left until last. Had they not come as part of the (otherwise excellent) Assault on Black Reach box I may never have ended up picking them up at all. Partly I think it’s the fact that they’re not the easiest models to convert, partly it’s that it isn’t easy to turn them into sub-assemblies so you end up painting a large and faintly intimidating lump all in one go. Having finished them I’m pleased enough with the results but I still can’t say they were my favourite bit of the project.

deffcopter-convert-or-die-2

deffcopter-convert-or-die-1

Because they aren’t the easiest things to convert I tried to work in a few additional markings to differentiate each from the others.

deffcopter-convert-or-die-6

deffcopter-convert-or-die-7

I do have a few unpainted Black Reach Deffcopters kicking around so, in spite of my complaining above, I may add a couple more to the squad, probably one with a big bomm and one with a buzzsaw. Anyway, with that the orky revamp is done (and everyone sick of greenskins can breathe a sigh of relief… for now). Next Chaos will get its moment in the sun, and I’ll be showing a few old projects which haven’t really seen the light of day yet. Until then, cheers and thanks for reading!

6 responses to “Get To Da Choppa!

  • Ann Wycoff

    Your orks are really coming together. I like the warbiker skull on the front of the kopta!

  • Ann Wycoff

    Yes, I agree, they shouldn’t be too uniform, unless their warboss was a stormboy before he came up from the ranks. 🙂

  • imperialrebelork

    I’ve only just come to really appreciate Orks. I’ve always been an IG dude at heart but since getting into converting Orks have become a bit of a passion. Their looted orky (half arsed) look suits my lack of skills in modelling perfectly haha. My blogging at the moment is documenting my WW2 (and German in general) inspired Ork Army.

    This Choppa has ace! Your painting puts mine to shame. I have chosen to go with planes over Choppas but now looking at your model I’m wondering if I should/could add one or two.

    • Wudugast

      Orks are great for honing converting and kitbashing skills. I actually think they’re deceptive – like Nurgle – in that at first glance it seems so easy to just knock things together (as opposed to something like Eldar which just have to look glamorous all the time) but making it look good takes more effort and so the experience subtly stretches your skills. I’ve often found myself thinking ‘yes, I can get away with doing this much but if I do a little more I can make it look even better’. And because it was easy to get that far I’m more receptive to taking on the next challenge and pushing what I can do a little further.

      • imperialrebelork

        I’ve been building models and dioramas for many years but it’s only really lately that I have the patience to sit and research how others do it. I enjoy the learning part almost as much as the doing part. With my current project I am determined to take my time and as you say ” if I do a little more I can make it look even better”

        Cheers!

Speak, damn you!

