I Like Trucking

The Ork Truck was the first really big kit I tackled. Like a lot of people I think I was (and still am) a little intimidated by vehicles, preferring small (read: forgiving) infantry models.
ork-truk-convert-or-die-1

I was never terribly happy with the results of my first attempt to paint it. I loved (and still do) the idea that ‘red uns’ really do go faster – the Ork’s belief that painting their vehicles red will give them a boost of speed translating into an actual effect in the game. However, a little foolishly, I attempted to give it a ‘red paint job’ without actually painting it red. When I started work on it I had an image in my mind’s eye of a rusty, oily hulk, held together mostly by a combination of filth, corrosion and luck and that was what I aimed to paint. Then I made random bits of it garish and red in an attempt to make just enough of appropriately coloured to count as a red paint job. The result was pretty mismatched and hideous but then, it was my first ever vehicle so give me a break eh? Bet yours was pretty rubbish as well!
Anyway this time round I wasn’t going to make the same mistake again and threw my efforts into creating the rusty wreck I’d always wanted.
ork-truk-convert-or-die-3

ork-truk-convert-or-die-4

ork-truk-convert-or-die-5

ork-truk-convert-or-die-6

ork-truk-convert-or-die-7

ork-truk-convert-or-die-8

Whilst I was about it I took the chance to add a few extra details, including this cheeky grot who must have chosen the most dangerously impractical place to sit imaginable.
ork-truk-convert-or-die-2

So there we have it, the rusty wreck is back on the road. As for the rest of my Orky revamp, with Christmas (and a holiday) just around the corner, time is tight but I’m starting to feel that success is possible. Nearly there…

2 responses to “I Like Trucking

Speak, damn you!

