Wake Up Dead

Here we go with Part 3 of this little foray into the archives of my Space Marine collection. Something new next time I promise!
Anyway, (somewhat inspired by all the undead activity going on at the moment thanks to the return of Nagash to Warhammer) this time it’s the turn of the Legion of the Damned. I’m something of a fan of 40K’s most mysterious Space Marines (that’s right, even more than the Dark Angels). Who doesn’t love ghostly warriors returning to fight alongside their brothers once more, then vanishing like smoke when the battle is done? Of course the true nature of the Legion of the Damned is anyone’s guess (my suggestion is the ghosts of warriors from the Great Crusade/Heresy era – after all they’re not called the Chapter of the Damned now are they? Maybe even the spirits of those warriors betrayed to their deaths in the Isstvan system). Wherever they come from it got me thinking about how my Hawkmoths chapter, desperately short of allies, might find their numbers bolstered by the spirits of the battle brothers Kell and his traitors slaughtered, returning in search of vengeance.
Here’s the sergeant in charge of the squad.
space-marine-convert-or-die-14To many it seems that these ghostly warriors share a connection to Librarian Numitor, often manifesting in battles where he is present and lingering around him as they are drawn back into the shadows. Some suggest that the enigmatic librarian has found some way to tap into the psychic need of his chapter to enact revenge, and by this means has allowed his dead brothers to resume their physical form, albeit only temporarily. Yet if this is true then the tainted dead crave vengeance even more so than their living comrades and hunger restlessly in the Immaterium, begging, commanding and cajoling by turns, scratching constantly at the psychic barriers the Librarian has erected between his mind and the Warp.
space-marine-convert-or-die-13

space-marine-convert-or-die-12

space-marine-convert-or-die-11

space-marine-convert-or-die-10Here’s a ‘rear view’ of the models showing the spinal forms growing through their powerarmour.
legion-of-the-damned-convert-or-die

Long term I have a pipe dream of making a whole army of undead Space Marines, complete with some kind of Vampire Lord as a Chaptermaster, ghostly Librarians projecting their spirits from the Warp, and only the Dreadnaughts “alive”, still guiding their chapter from beyond the grave (although this ambition may have to wait until I’m old, decadent and rich). Additionally, although regular readers of the blog will know I rather enjoy painting Plague Marines it was a nice change of pace to try some zombie Space Marines without the influence of Papa Nurgle.
Another idea, linked to the above, came to me when I read the piece in the Legion of the Damned Codex describing the belief held by Inquisitor Quixos that the Legion were the Emperor’s will taking form on the physical plane, in exactly the same way as the daemons of chaos are the manifest will of their patron god. The piece suggested that just as, for example, Khorne’s servants range from bloodletters through to mighty bloodthristers, so there might be larger and more powerful entities in the Emperor’s pantheon of servants waiting to be discovered. I don’t know if I’ll try it but I thought this could be a rather fun project to pursue, perhaps creating a small strike force of Grey Knights to represent these Engels Mortis.

So what do you think? Are they the Emperor’s will made manifest or should I be burned for allowing noble warriors to consort with these dark spirits? Make your feelings known in the comments box below!

3 responses to “Wake Up Dead

  • Alex

    Dude – thanks for getting me hooked in to your blog! I had a good read through and I really like what you do. I am particularly impressed with your spin on the LoD… these guys are amazing! Novel take on the theme, Blanchesque conversion & paint job… inspiring stuff! You’ve got me thinking now… 🙂

    • Wudugast

      Cheers! A big part of the hobby for me is looking at the creative things other people are doing, taking different elements and combining them, putting my own spin on things, bouncing ideas off other people (and sometimes just straight up ripping ideas off!) in order to create my own version of the strange and grubby universe of 40k. Perhaps it’s a little egotistical but I like to think that this blog exists to give something back, if I can inspire others the way I’ve been inspired then we can get a nicely harmonious, circle-of-life thing going, everyone sharing ideas and inspiring one another. Otherwise I’m just talking to myself really (or fishing for praise which is worse).

      Anyway, glad you enjoyed these – looking forward to seeing the products of that thinking! At the moment I’m getting the bits together for something of a spin-off from this squad (a kind of vampire/space marine/angel of death but rather more grim and undead than the Blood Angels).

      • Alex

        I like the sound of that dude, I’m seeing creepy and nasty… consider me ‘watching with interest!’ Your sentiments on giving back to this wonderful hobby are spot on – it is so easy to play the game ‘out of the box’ these days, but just a little inspiration and creativity can go a long long way! Keep on trucking Brother!

Speak, damn you!

