The Lord of the Keys

With unnerving regularity, Cypher will arrive at some critical flashpoint, his presence kicking off a violent chain of events time and again.”
From Dataslate Cypher – Lord of the Fallen

Now if the quote above is true then where better for Cypher to show up than alongside my Beasts of Ruin? As much as the patronage of all four chaos gods it makes me feel than Kell and his warriors are set upon the path of greatness, not merely a band of renegades in a provincial sector but villains of real importance whose actions might change history. Indeed adding Cypher to the force feels like a validation of the threat they pose to the galaxy, a rubber stamp of their martial strength.
Of course, what happens when the secretive and single-minded Dark Angels turn up and start encroaching on the vendetta of my equally bitter and enigmatic Hawkmoths remains to be seen…convert-or-die-cypher-1I mentioned a couple of months ago that I wanted to add Cypher to the Beasts of Ruin. As it turned out the miniature then came together very quickly. I used a Dark Angels veteran model as the basis for the conversion but cut it in half at the waist, turning the torso just a fraction to make the pose more dynamic. I added a pair of suitable guns and a sword from the Empire Greatswords kit and the hooded desperado was complete.
convert-or-die-cypher-2

convert-or-die-cypher-3

convert-or-die-cypher-4

convert-or-die-cypher-5

convert-or-die-cypher-6

convert-or-die-cypher-7Interestingly I note that Cypher is always depicted as wearing green armour, both on the studio miniature and in the official artwork. However if he is one of the Fallen – and thus a renegade from before the Dark Angels changed their colours following the Horus Heresy – it should be black. I don’t know if this is an error made by the Games Workshop team, a deliberate hint regarding his identity or if it is explained somewhere in the background (if you know or have a good theory then do please post a comment and let me know). Whatever the truth is I hedged my bets and decided to paint his armour black.

One response to “The Lord of the Keys

  • War is My Shepherd | Convert or Die

    […] Following the Librarian in the last post here’s another Space Marine ‘from the archives’; Chaplain Germanus. This project came at roughly the peak of my sculpting endeavours. After this, perhaps emboldened by these successes, I tried increasingly adventurous projects, over-reached myself, and retreated. For a while I instead chose the somewhat cowardly get-out that I was good at kitbashing but couldn’t sculpt. Obviously this is grossly unfair – my first efforts at painting were sloppy and my early kitbashes were regularly awkward and odd looking so it was hardly surprising that my initial attempts at working with greenstuff often turned out a little rough around the edges. Anyway, I’m trying to get back into using greenstuff a little more now so this seemed like a good moment to show this model, especially as it remains one that I’m rather proud of. Rather than re-invent the wheel I’ll not try to explain how I made the skull helm, instead I’ll point you at the tutorial I followed over at the much missed From the Warp. For those of you not familiar with From the Warp (where have you been?!) it was an extremely useful and inspiring blog, full to bursting with helpful tutorials. Personally I most enjoyed the way in which complicated tutorials like the skull helm were presented as straightforward and achievable so that even a beginner like myself could look at them and think “I could do that”. Sadly From the Warp hasn’t been updated in some time but it’s still well worth a trawl through the archives. I made the long oath scrolls from paper (thick paper or card works best for this, nothing too glossy or thin). Add a dab of superglue and let the paper wick it up, once it dries the paper will become stiff. Then just glue it in place and add a blob of greenstuff to make the wax seal. Here’s a couple of work-in-progress images showing how the model developed. I don’t often show these, not because I don’t like them – I think they’re great and often really useful – but because I tend to get wired straight into painting and then realise part way through (usually before the highlights and details start to go on when the model looks unsavably awful) that I forgot to take any pictures. Finally here’s a few other things I’ve worked on recently for the Hawkmoths. The Watcher in the Dark may be a real Dark Angel’s staple (and given their background it’s hard to say why one would be associated with the Hawkmoths) but they’re just too cool not to paint one. Perhaps it’s something to do with Cypher… […]

Speak, damn you!

